Thank you

Posted: Friday, March 02, 2001

... for math competition support

Four teams and three individuals from Juneau and one team each from Craig and Ketchikan participated in the Southeast Regional MATHCOUNTS Competition on Feb. 3, 2001.

Juneau's Dzantik'i Heeni Middle School team, coached by teacher Mary Borthwick, took first place for Southeast Alaska. The four team members also had three of the top four individual mathematics scores in Southeast. The four team members are: Abe Levy (1st place individual overall), Gunnar Miller (2nd place individual overall), Lindsey Heumann (3rd place individual overall) and Kelsey Neussl. Tyler Hennon, one of Dzantik'i Heeni Middle School's individual members took 4th place individual overall.

Second place team went to Juneau's Floyd Dryden Middle School team, coached by teacher Josh Yerkes. The four team members are: Andrew Capacci, Carly Garrison, Daniel Luedke and Kacie Timothy. Third place went to Ketchikan's Schoenbar Middle School team, coached by teachers Ole Sullivan and Gary Boatwright. The four team members are Ronald Brandow, Kristin Buchanan, Alejandro Chavarria and Krystle DeCourcey.

The two Juneau teams and the top four individuals will advance to the state competition held in Juneau at the University of Alaska Southeast on March 24. The top four individual "mathletes" from the MATHCOUNTS State Competition will represent Alaska at the National Finals in Washington, D.C., in May.

MATHCOUNTS is a nationwide math coaching and competition program designed to improve math skills among U. S. students.

MATHCOUNTS is a volunteer and nonprofit organization. All state and chapter competition expenses are funded locally. We wish to sincerely thank our local and state sponsors. The state sponsors include: The Usibelli Foundation, BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc., Electric Power Systems, GCI Inc., Dowl Engineers & VECO. The Southeast Regional MATHCOUNTS program is sponsored locally by Burdick Engineering, Carson Dorn, Coastwise Engineering, Gorman Engineers, Haight & McLaughlin Inc., Hansen Engineering LLC, Jensen Yorba Lott Architects, Murray & Associates, P. C., Peratrovich Nottingham & Drage Inc., R & M Engineering Inc. Juneau, R & M Engineering Inc. Ketchikan, Tetra Tech/KCM Inc., Toner-Nordling & Associates Inc., USKH Inc., the Alaska Society of Professional Engineers, and the Alaska Engineering Education Foundation.

Good luck to you coaches as you prepare your students for the upcoming state competition.

Douglas H. Murray, P.E.

2001 Southeast/State Chapter Coordinator

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us