Posted: Friday, March 02, 2007

Poetry Omnibus Winners Announced The Arts & Humanities Council, with Poetry Omnibus coordinator Kristan Hutchison, is pleased to announce this year's winners of the Poetry Omnibus contest. The submissions were judged by distinguished Alaska poets Jerah Chadwick, of Unalaska and Anne Hanley, of Fairbanks.

Sound off on the important issues at

Adult poems: "The Width" by Valorie Aquino, "Wedges of Ducks" by Mary Capobianco, "April Squall" by Nina Chordas, "Workday Done" by Tamara Clover, "Vernal Equinox" by Carol Coyle, "Wind's Dream" by Elizabeth Cuadra, "In Winter" by Linda Daniel, "Le jardin" by Nancy DeCherney, "Juneau limerick" by Jim Hale, "Shedding Summer" by Robyn Holloway, "Another Subaru" by Holloway, "Christmas Morning" by Aleria Jensen, "Winter Vocabulary" by Jensen, "Snow is Forecast" by Jonas Lamb, "Alaskan Coasts" by Jeff McLain, "Merging" by Richard Stokes, "Living in the City" by Wall, "Saturday a.m." by Wall, "Saying Thank You" byWall and "Rendezvous" by Charmain Weeks.

Youth poems, all by fourth-graders: "Tiny Snowflakes" by Isabelle Watts, "Volcano" by Elizabeth Wharton, "Stitch by Stitch" by Jared Markovich, "Lightning" by Laurie DeBolt, "Snowflake" by Samantha Heidersdorf and "Flying Squirrel" by Brady Mallinger

The Poetry Omnibus Awards Ceremony and Reading will be held at 5:30 p.m. Saturday, March 3, at the downtown library. The Friends of the Library will provide reception food and the winners will read their poems. This will be the first chance to see the bus poems, both as poem-placards and in a book. The Poetry Omnibus installation ceremony will take place on Friday, March 9 at noon at Marine Park as part of the Arts Festival celebration. The Capital Transit buses will "perform" in rhythm to the poems and the poem-placards will be put onboard. The Printing Trade Co. has generously sponsored the printing of the placards. A winning poem will be posted daily at


Gwendolyn Clay, Andrew "Andy" Ebona, Clarence "Butch" Laiti and Charles Williams were elected at the Douglas Indian Association's recent tribal election. Following the tribal election, the council elected the following executive officers: Frank Miyasato, president; Norman Sarabia, vice president; Gloria Sarabia, secretary; and Ebona, treasurer. Miyasato also announced the hiring of Floyd M. Kookesh as tribal administrator.


Weather L. Potdevin, of Juneau, was named to the dean's list for the 2006 fall semester at Colby College in Waterville, Maine. A senior, Potdevin is an anthropology major. She attended Juneau-Douglas High School and is the daughter of James and Tamira Potdevin, of Juneau.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us