Girl Scouts honored

Posted: Friday, March 08, 2002

The Coastal America Partnership Award Ceremony recognized the Girl Scout Rehabilitation Station Program Team on Feb. 5, 2002, in a ceremony at the Egan Convention Center in Anchorage. William T. Hogarth, Assistant Administrator for Fisheries at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, was the awarding official.

The National Marine Fisheries Service, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the Environmental Protection Agency and the Girls Scouts of Troop 760 Susitna Council formed a partnership to promote sound marine conservation and education for young people in cooperation with the Alaska Sea Life Center. The partnership has developed a program that involves a series of workshops for Girl Scouts. The workshops focus on raising the awareness of critical coastal issues, the scientific methods being used to study these issues, career opportunities and funding issues as they relate to restoration and rehabilitation of these resources.

Award recipients included:

Jeanne Hanson, National Marine Fisheries Service

Matt Carr, Environmental Protection Agency

Michael Kiehn, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Tammy Breard, Alaska SeaLife Center

Joan Brindle, Alaska SeaLife Center

Amy Haddow, Alaska SeaLife Center

Heidi Hedberg, Girl Scout Council

Joyce Cox, Girl Scout Council

Sue Lamb, Girl Scout Leader

Mary Kiehn, Girl Scout

Alisha Kiehn, Girl Scout

Amanda King, Girl Scout

Erin Overstreet, Girl Scout

Juliann Hanson, Girl Scout

Stephanie Lamb, Girl Scout

Whitney Skinner, Girl Scout

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us