Utah claims NCAA ski title

Posted: Sunday, March 09, 2003

LYME, N.H. - Utah's Lina Johansson won the women's slalom Saturday as the Utes took their first NCAA ski title since 1997.

Dartmouth's Brad Wall won the men's slalom.

After four days of alpine and cross-country racing, Utah finished with 682 points. Vermont was second with 551 points in the 34th and final season for coach Chip Lacasse.

Colorado finished third. Denver, which won the last three titles, was fifth.

Utah's Pierre Olsson finished seventh and Jernej Bukovec ninth to in the men's race to put Utah over the top.

Johansson followed with a relatively easy victory, leading after the first run and winning with a time of 1:35.03. Colby's Jenny Lathrop was second in 1:36.02.

Wall, who graduates in spring and plans to rejoin the Australian World Cup team, was tied with Vermont's Jimmy Cochran after the first run at Dartmouth Skiway. Wall finished the second run in a combined time of 1 minute, 40.28 seconds. Cochran's total time was 1:40.30.

The University of Alaska Anchorage ski team finished in ninth place with 331.5 team points. UAA's finish makes it 19 years straight that the Seawolves have finished in the top 10 at Nationals.

The University of Alaska Fairbanks finished in 12th place with 254 points.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us