Alaskan Open swings through Arizona

Juneau Golf Club holds eight different tournaments in the 20th annual event

Posted: Thursday, March 09, 2006

For the 20th straight year, members of the Juneau Golf Club competed in the Alaskan Open.

Sound off on the important issues of the week at

Players flew to Casa Grande, Ariz., to play at the Francisco Grande Hotel and Golf Resort from Feb. 28 to March 3.

The tournament included a best ball scramble and three days of stroke player. Players from Juneau and former Juneau residents, along with golfers from Washington, Arkansas, New Mexico and Wisconsin, competed in the 20th annual tournament.

Arkansas' Chris West won the overall men's title with the lowest gross score.

In the women's lowest gross score competition, Jennifer Schmitz captured the championship.

Trina Jones captured the A Flight women's title with Laura Beason placing second and Uyvonne Mangini finishing third.

In the B Flight for women, Maxine Richert finished in first place with Annie Daniels and Judy Bakeberg taking second and third place, respectively.

Al Jahner won the A Flight men's championship. Gary Murdoch placed second, Dan Rear took home third-place honors and George Mangini finished fourth.

In the men's B Flight, Steve Schlaffman finished first with Ed Tobacco taking second. David Danberg and David Barstad finished third and fourth, respectively, in B Flight.

Pee Wee Smith garnered top honors in the men's C Flight, with Mark Notar taking second, Karl Hage finishing third and Jim Arnoldt grabbing fourth place.

Jerry Melton won the men's D Flight at Francisco while Frank Russell took second. John Rear was third and Peter Zecevic placed fourth in D Flight.

In the senior flight, Bill Baxandall bested the field to win the title.

Bill Hansen took second in the senior division while George Mundell finished third and Pat Wilcox snagged fourth-place honors.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us