ABA announces finalists for Indie Choice awards

Posted: Thursday, March 10, 2011

The American Booksellers Association announced on March 1 the finalists for the 2011 Indies Choice Book Awards, including the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards. The winners will be chosen by the owners and staff at ABA member stores in balloting throughout the month of March.

The Indies Choice Book Awards finalists in six categories — adult fiction, adult nonfiction, adult debut, young adult, picture book hall of fame, and most engaging author — were selected by a jury of independent booksellers from the 2010 Indie Next List Great Reads and additional bookseller recommendations.

This year’s finalists for book of the year are:


Great House, by Nicole Krauss

How to Read the Air, by Dinaw Mengestu

Room, by Emma Donoghue

The Surrendered, by Chang-rae Lee

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, by David Mitchell

A Visit From the Goon Squad, by Jennifer Egan


At Home, by Bill Bryson

Cleopatra: A Life, by Stacy Schiff

Let’s Take the Long Way Home, by Gail Caldwell

The Tiger, by John Vaillant

Unbroken, by Laura Hillenbrand

The Wave, by Susan Casey


Beneath the Lion’s Gaze, by Maaza Mengiste

The Emperor of All Maladies, by Siddhartha Mukherjee

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, by Helen Simonson

Matterhorn, by Karl Marlantes

The Quickening, by Michelle Hoover

The Wake of Forgiveness, by Bruce Machart


Bamboo People, by Mitali Perkins

Before I Fall, by Lauren Oliver

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Out of My Mind, by Sharon M. Draper

Revolution, by Jennifer Donnelly

Will Grayson, Will Grayson, by John Green and David Levithan

Finalists for the E.B. White read-aloud award are:


Because of Mr. Terupt, by Rob Buyea

The Familiars, by Adam Jay Epstein and Andrew Jacobson

Penny Dreadful, by Laurel Snyder, Abigail Halpin (Illus.)

The Sixty-Eight Rooms, by Marianne Malone, Greg Call (Illus.)

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda, by Tom Angleberger

A Tale of Dark and Grimm, by Adam Gidwitz


Bedtime for Bear, by Brett Helquist

Chicken Big, by Keith Graves

Children Make Terrible Pets, by Peter Brown

Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes, by Eric Litwin, James Dean (Illus.)

A Pig Parade Is a Terrible Idea, by Michael Ian Black, Kevin Hawkes (Illus.)

The Quiet Book, by Deborah Underwood, Renata Liwska (Illus.)

Picture book hall of fame

Bread and Jam for Frances, by Russell Hoban, Lillian Hoban (Illus.)

Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?, by Bill Martin Jr. and Eric Carle

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, by Bill Martin Jr. and John Archambault, Lois Ehlert (Illus.)

Corduroy, by Don Freeman

Curious George, by H.A. Rey

Goodnight Gorilla, by Peggy Rathmann

Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, by Kevin Henkes

The Little Engine That Could, by Watty Piper

Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel, by Virginia Lee Burton

The Napping House, by Audrey Wood, Don Wood (Illus.)

The Snowy Day, by Ezra Jack Keats

Stellaluna, by Janelle Cannon

The Very Hungry Caterpillar, by Eric Carle

Most engaging author

Laurie Halse Anderson

Jonathan Evison

Kevin Henkes

Mitali Perkins

Richard Russo

Terry Tempest Williams

All booksellers at ABA member bookstores in good standing are encouraged to vote; only one ballot per person will be accepted. Voting, which is via an electronic ballot on BookWeb.org, is open until March 31. The winners will be announced on April 7.

This year’s winners and finalists will be honored at ABA’s Celebration of Bookselling Author Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, May 24, at BookExpo America 2011.

Founded in 1900, the American Booksellers Association is a not-for-profit trade organization devoted to meeting the needs of its core members — independently owned bookstores with storefront locations — through education, information dissemination, business products and services, and advocacy. ABA exists to protect and promote the interests of independent retail book businesses, as well as to protect the First Amendment rights of every American. The association actively supports free speech, literacy, and programs that support local and independent retail shops. A board of nine booksellers, representing thousands of members, governs the Association. ABA is headquartered in Tarrytown, New York.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us