Capitals win Tier 4 title

Posted: Thursday, March 10, 2011

The Juneau Capitals went north over the weekend to compete at the 2011 Alaska Hockey Championships in Anchorage’s Dempsey Anderson Ice Arena, where they went undefeated to win the Bantam Tier 4 state championship.

The Capitals, members of the Juneau Douglas Ice Association, combined to score 18 goals, giving up just two, to finish with a 5-0-1 record.

Juneau tied with the Healy Coal Kings 1-1 in the first game of the tournament before recording shutouts the next four outings against the Anchorage Wolfpack, Anchorage Blizzards, Tok Wolverines and Fairbanks 1.

The Capitals then defeated the Palmer Pioneers 2-1 in the championship game.

The roster, coached by Ian Leary, Darryl Tseu and Gean Cheeseman, included Ashtin Kenney, Cole Cheeseman, Cory West, Hunter Hickok, Jake Bicknell, Kyle Schramm, Logan Moser, Luke Sewell, Nathan Klein, Quincy Gregg, Shane Moller and Tommy McCarthy.

Hickock allowed just two scores in goal for the Capitals, who were led on offense by Schramm’s six goals and two assists.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us