Sports Briefs

Posted: Tuesday, March 13, 2001

Juneau skiers head to Junior Olympics

Several members of the Juneau Ski Club have been selected to participate in the Western Region Junior Olympics, competing against the best atheletes from Alaska, California, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

For the J-1's, ages 17-19, three Juneau racers qualified for the Alaska quota of 10 boys and eight girls. Competing at Squaw Valley, Calif., on March 7-12, will be Hilary Turner, Dylan Fournier and Brandon Andrews.

For the J-2's, ages 15-16, six Juneau racers qualified for the Alaska quota of six girls and 10 boys. Competing at Mt. Bachelor, Ore., on March 17-24, will be Heidi Denton, Akemi Kunibe, Brian Nowlin, Nick Yankee, Mark Harmon and Richard Isett, Jr.

For the J-3's, ages 13-14, eight Juneau racers qualified for the Alaska quota of eight girls and 10 boys. Competing at Jackson Hole, Wyo., on March 16-19, will be Lisa Wilson, Elise Wahto, Julia Nave, Erika Horst, Elizabeth Nowlin, Don Meiners, Gerrad Craig and Joshua Young.

For the J-4's, ages 11-12, three Juneau racers qualified for the Alaska quota of three girls and three boys. Also competing at Jackson Hole will be Donny Peterson, Zachary Young and Chris Hinkley.

Grochow, Denton win slalom race

Wearing raingear instead of zoot suits, the racers of the Juneau Ski Club completed a slalom race on Sunday at Eaglecrest Ski Area for ages 11 and up.

J.C. Grochow won the boys race with a total time of 1:42.92, followed by Nick Yankee at 1:44.15. Joshua Young finished third with a time of 1:47.96.

Heidi Denton took top honors in the girls race with a combined time of 1:43.61, while Erika Horst took second at 1:46.42. Lisa Wilson just edged Elise Wahto for third place, posting 2:00.17.

In the Junior-4 age group, ages 11-12, Christopher Hinkley won with a time of 1:51.5, while Donny Peterson took second with a time of 1:56.2. Zachary Young finished in third while posting a time of 2:02.1.


Boys results (two-run combined time) -- 1. J.C. Grochow, 1:42.92; 2. Nick Yankee, 1:44.15; 3. Joshua Young, 1:47.96; 4. Kyle White, 1:49.15; 5. Edward Shanley, 1:50.48; 6. Gerrad Craig, 1:55.39; 7. Brian Nowlin, 1:55.96; 8. Charles Williams, 2:07.66; 9. Pat Shanley, 2:43.52.

Girls results -- 1. Heidi Denton, 1:43.61; 2. Erika Horst, 1:46.42; 3. Lisa Wilson, 2:00.17; 4. Elise Wahto, 2:00.72; 5. Kristen Brandner, 2:01.45; 6. Julia Nave, 2:04.04; 7. Elizabeth Nowlin, 2:04.38; 8. Akemi Kunibe, 2:09.54; 9. Kaitlyn Bausler, 2:11.37.

J-4's results -- 1. Christopher Hinkley, 1:51.5; 2. Donny Peterson, 1:56.2; 3. Zachary Young, 2:02.1; 4. Cody Heppner, 2:07.7; 5. G. Wahto, 2:11.6; 6. Blaze Rohloff, 2:15.1; 7. Tom Meiners, 2:30.4; DNF: K. Harmon; G. Vance.

Louden wins STATE bodybuilding title

Matt Louden of Juneau captured the men's overall individual title Saturday at the Natural Physique Committee Alaska Bodybuilding, Figure and Fitness Championships at West Anchorage High School.

Louden, who also won the Mr. Anchorage title in October, claimed the men's middleweight division title. Corey Pavitt of Juneau won the men's light heavyweight division championship and was the only other competitor from Southeast listed in the results.

Karla Atwood of Wasilla won the women's overall individual title.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us