Three Hoonah boys make 2A all-conference team

Posted: Wednesday, March 16, 2005

Hoonah's Dustin Bowen, D.J. Lindstrom and Devin Moritz were named to the Southeast Conference-Class 2A all-conference boys basketball team Saturday after leading the Braves to their first region title since 1998.

The trio were among 12 players named to the boys squad, while 12 girls players also were honored at the conclusion of the region tournament at Mount Edgecumbe High School in Sitka.

Hoonah beat Kake in the boys final Saturday, while Skagway won the girls title by beating Yakutat. All four teams advanced to the state tournament later this week in Anchorage.

The Klawock boys and girls won the team sportsmanship award at the region tourney.

Yakutat's Kyle Dierick won the boys 3-point competition on Friday by making 15 shots in 1 minute, while Hoonah's Amber Lampe won the girls 3-point contest with 11 baskets in 1 minute.

Sharon Webb of Klawock won the girls free-throw contest by making 17 of 25 attempts, while Angoon's John Croasmun hit an impressive 23 of 25 attempts to claim the boys free-throw crown.


All-Conference Team

Girls - Jessica Williams, Angoon; Cassandra Peters, Hoonah; Kristi Skaflestad, Hoonah; Stasha Guthrie, Hydaburg; Megan Gregory, Kake; Sharon Webb, Klawock; Kaleigh Ryno, Klawock; Savannah Ames, Skagway; Candi Ketterman, Skagway; Tiffanie Potter, Skagway; Heidi Esbenshade, Yakutat; Jacquoi James, Yakutat.

Boys - John Croasmun, Angoon; Dustin Bowen, Hoonah; D.J. Lindstrom, Hoonah; Devin Moritz, Hoonah; Tim Demmert, Kake; Derek Knudsen, Kake; Shawn Jackson, Kake; Roberto Medina, Klawock; Trevor Cochran, Skagway; Ryan Gray, Thorne Bay; Kyle Dierick, Yakutat; Ben Dunbar, Yakutat.

Great Sport Team

Girls - Donella Frank, Angoon; Kristi Skaflestad, Hoonah; Jessie Dybdahl, Hoonah; Valesha Patterson, Hydaburg; Lydia Fawcett, Hydaburg; Megan Gregory, Kake; Savannah Jackson, Kake; Melissa Steward, Klawock; Cathia Demmert, Klawock; Crystal Ketterman, Skagway; Sharnel Vale, Yakutat; Heidi Esbenshade, Yakutat.

Boys - Konrad Frank, Angoon; John Croasmun, Angoon; Michael Koenig, Hoonah; Lloyd Lewin, Hoonah; Shawn Jackson, Kake; Dean Cavanaugh, Kake; Devin Nelson, Klawock; Christopher Stockton, Klawock; John McCluskey, Skagway; Alin Vale, Yakutat; Keith Ivers, Yakutat.

All-Academic Team (seniors with GPAs of 3.0 or higher)

Girls - Kristi Skaflestad, Hoonah; Marita Tolson, Hydaburg; RaeAnne Mills, Kake; Tessa Cavanaugh, Kake; Megan Gregory, Kake; Sharon Webb, Klawock; Kaleigh Ryno, Klawock; Crystal Ketterman, Skagway; Savannah Ames, Skagway; Jacquoi James, Yakutat; Magen James, Yakutat.

Boys - Tim Demmert, Kake; Daniel Gebhart, Kake; Roberto Medina, Klawock; Rafael Ramirez, Klawock; Stephen Ellison, Klawock; John McCluskey, Skagway; Gerald Carl, Thorne Bay.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us