Juneau Bowling Center wins annual city championship

Posted: Monday, March 17, 2008

The Juneau Bowling Center team of Jeff Jones, Tim Powers Sr., Tim Powers Jr. and Kathy Powers won the division one team championship of the third annual Juneau USBC City Championships last month at the Juneau Bowling Center.

The foursome recorded a score of 2,917 over three games to win.

Team Hambone - consisting of Nick Andrews, Annie Akstin, John Myers and Justin Burns - won the division two title with a score of 2,832.

In division one doubles, the father-son tandem of Powers Sr. and Powers Jr. rolled a three-game score of 1,494 to win the championship. Burns and Park Myers took second while David Rose and Charlie Lewis placed third.

Luanne Powers and Nick Andrews won the division two team title with a score of 1,590. Kathy Powers also teamed with Andrews to place second while Akstin and Robby Markovich took third place.

Loren Randolph won the division one singles title with a three-game score of 817. Tom Pittman took second and Markovich placed third. Andrews' score of 817 was good enough for the division two singles title while Kathy Powers placed second and Katie Damian took third.

In the division one all-events category, Justin Burns won with a score of 2,286 while Markovich took second and Lewis finished third. Andrews won the division two title while Kathy Powers placed second and Damian claimed third.

In January, second-seeded Tom Powers Jr. won the 5th Annual Allyn Hayes Southeast Masters Tournament.

Powers Jr. defeated top-seeded Park Myers 236-212 for the championship.

Carmine DiCostanzo won the scratch tournament title.

Coming March 27-30 will be the 50th Annual Alaska State USBC Bowling Association Championship Tournament. The tournament is sanctioned by the United States Bowling Congress and will run from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. each day. For more information, log on to www.juneaubowlingcenter.com.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us