Angoon wins second straight Mighty B Bracket game

Posted: Tuesday, March 18, 2008

Angoon moved one step closer to playing for the Juneau Lions Club Gold Medal Tournament Mighty B Bracket title with a 103-70 win over Yakutat on Monday at the Juneau-Douglas High School gym.

Angoon raced to a 49-27 halftime lead and rolled to victory as seven players scored in double figures.

Curtis Lane led Angoon with 25 points, Alper Johnson had 14 points, Levi Johnson Jr. scored 12 points while Stan Johnson Jr. and Guy Hunter added 11 points each. Frank Lane and Bailey Johnson had 10 points each in the win.

Also for Angoon, Kevin Mitchell had six points while Stephen Johnson and Frank Jack chipped in two points each.

For Yakutat, Jay Sin had 25 points and Sam Ferguson poured in 22 points. Russell Raney had 13 points, Ben Dunbar added five points, Richard Siverly hit a 3-pointer and Skye Endicott scored two points in defeat.

Angoon will play either Haines or Sitka at 9 p.m. Thursday while Yakutat takes on either Kake or Hoonah at 9 p.m. Wednesday.


Haines Merchants 96, Sitka Estella 82

Haines Merchants, the defending Mighty B Bracket champions, held off Sitka Estella on Monday night at the Juneau-Douglas High School gym.

Jason Shull poured in 21 points, including three 3-pointers, to lead Haines.

Stuart DeWitt had 17 points, Andrew Friske scored 16 points and Brian Friske had 14 points in the win. Also for Haines, Tyler Healy added eight points, Ben Egolf and Jesse McGraw scored seven points each, Aaron Nash had four points and Norman Zura chipped in two points.

Casey Campbell led Sitka with 25 points and four 3-pointers.

Matt Burrows added 23 points, including four 3-point shots, while Tom Gamble contributed 12 points in the loss. Rickey Sam had eight points, Steve Walker scored five points, Scott Jones had four points, Paul Carrington tallied three points and Zack Carlson had two points for Sitka.


Klukwan 80, Southeast Warriors 68

Klukwan raced to a 43-25 halftime lead and toppled the Southeast Warriors.

Jeff Sharnboich scored 23 points to lead Klukwan while Dave Buss had 19 points and Ethan Billings scored 11 points in the win. Also for Klukwan, Guy Tompkins had nine points, Duane Wilson scored eight points, Frank Tompkins chipped in six points and Don Nash tallied four points.

Ron Hansen led Southeast Warriors with 21 points and David Watson scored 17 points. Rob Seward had 11 points, Jerry Arca contributed seven points, Gary Brown connected on a 3-pointer, Ron Wheat and Charles Bennett had two points each and Steve Bennett scored one point in defeat.

Klukwan will play Kake at 7:30 p.m. Thursday while the Warriors will take on either Juneau ANB or Angoon at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday.


Sitka 83, Angoon 54

Sitka used a big second half to down Angoon in the Master's Bracket.

Sitka led 32-29 at the half before putting away its opponent.

Steve Edenshaw scored 21 points for Sitka while George Erickson added 14 points. Scott Calhoon and Norm Staton had 11 points each and Ned Chapman added 10 points in the win.

For Angoon, Joey George and Phil Hunter had 11 points each while Roger Williams scored 10 points.



Haines Merchants 109, Hoonah 81

Defending Mighty B Bracket champions Haines Merchants upended Hoonah on Sunday.

Jason Shull led Haines with 22 points while Andrew Friske and Ben Egolf poured in 19 points each. Stuart DeWitt scored 15 points, Brian Friske had 13 points, Jessie McGraw and Tyler Healy tallied seven points each, Norman Zura scored five points and Aaron Nash had two points in the win.

For Hoonah, Travis Dybdahl led all players with 30 points. Lucas Johnson had 13 points, Mike Schneeberger scored 11 points and D.J. Lindstrom added nine points in the loss. Also for Hoonah, Devin Moretz had seven points, David Lindoff and James Wilson scored four points each and Adam Lee hit a 3-pointer.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us