Metlakatla tops Klukwan to stay alive in B Bracket

Posted: Wednesday, March 19, 2008

Metlakatla raced to a 53-29 halftime lead and never looked back in a 102-68 victory over Klukwan in the Juneau Lions Club Gold Medal Tournament Mighty B Bracket on Tuesday at the Juneau-Douglas High School gym.

Metlakatla eliminated Klukwan from the tournament with the win.

Bryan Hayward led Metlakatla with a game-high 28 points. Richie Hayward added 24 points with two 3-pointers while Mike Henderson scored 14 points in the win.

Also for Metlakatla, Tre' Ilasa had 12 points, Craig Kitka scored nine points, Anthony Gogert had six points, Derek Wilson and Harry Hewsori tallied four points each, and Pat Cook hit a free throw.

Nik Hura led Klukwan with 21 points and Chris Dixon had 14 points in defeat.

Kevin Thompson scored 13 points while Michael Ganey and Jacob Narum had 10 points each in defeat.

Metlakatla will play Sitka Estella at 3:30 p.m. today in another elimination game.


Klukwan 52, Hoonah 45

Klukwan sent Hoonah to the loser's bracket Tuesday with a close win at the JDHS gym.

Chris Wassanan had a team-high 15 points while Terry Friske scored 12 points and Frank Coronell added 10 points for Klukwan.

Joe Parnell had six points, Larry Sweet Sr. and Al Reinhart tallied four points each while Ed Hotch hit a free throw for Klukwan.

Hoonah's Louie White Sr. led his team with 19 points while Pete Schneeberger had 10 points. Leon Cain scored seven points, Bill Wolfe Jr. chipped in four points, Alan Fisher Sr. had three points and Jack Lee scored two points in defeat.


Angoon 83, Juneau ANB 82, OT

Angoon eliminated Juneau ANB from tournament play in overtime on Tuesday.

The score was tied 73-73 at the end of regulation. Frank Jack III hit his 11th 3-pointer of the game in the extra period to help Angoon win.

Jack finished with a game-high 47 points.

Randy Gamble had nine points, Steve Jack had eight points, Jay Booth scored seven points, Jeff Duncan tallied five points and DeAndre King had three points in the win.

Kevin Casperson led Juneau ANB with 35 points, including six 3-pointers.

Wally Olds had 12 points, John Forschner scored nine points, Phil Paramore had eight points, John Garvey and Mike Corpuz tallied six points each, Leon Aceveda chipped in five points and Ben Coronell hit a free throw in defeat.


Hoonah 125, Kake 98

Hoonah scored the most points of any team in the tourney thus far in a win over Kake on Tuesday.

Travis Dybdahl exploded for 39 points and Mike Schneeberger had 23 points for Hoonah.

Also in the win, David Lindoff posted 16 points, Jeremy Johnson and Lucas Johnson had 10 points each while Jams Wilson tallied eight points. Gary Brown Jr. and D.J. Lindstrom scored six points each, Devin Moretz had a 3-pointer while Walter Washington and Adam Lee had two points each.

For Kake, Brandon Jackson posted 33 points and Shane Padgett scored 20 points in defeat.

Kevin Aceveda tallied 15 points, Josh Jackson had 13 points, David Watkins scored seven points, Pete Vernetti and Shawn Jackson had four points each and Wayne Watkins chipped in two points in defeat.

The loss eliminated Kake from the tournament.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us