Small schools tourney begins

Posted: Wednesday, March 22, 2000

The top-seeded Yakutat Eagles will play the Hydaburg Warriors in the opener of the Region V-Class 2A girls basketball tournament Thursday at Juneau-Douglas High School.

Yakutat plays Hydaburg at 8 a.m. to open the three-day tournament, with the Angoon Eagles playing the Hoonah Braves at 11:45 a.m., the defending Class 2A state champion Klawock Chieftains playing the Skagway Panthers at 3:30 p.m. and the Kake Thunderbirds playing the Gustavus Foxes at 7:15 p.m. to wrap up the girls' first-round games.

Friday's semifinals are at 3:30 p.m. and 7:15 p.m., and Saturday's championship game will be at 7 p.m. for the girls. The two teams that reach the championship game will both advance to the Class 2A state tournament March 30-April 1 at Service High School in Anchorage.

The Eagles (18-2 overall and 14-0 in region play) are led by 5-8 junior forward Jasmine James, who averages 13 points a game and has been called the best all-around player in the league by Kake coach Glenn Padgett.

Yakutat is also led by Stephanie Johnson and Rebecca Widdows. Miranda Adams leads Hydaburg (1-13 overall, 1-13 region).

Angoon (12-6, 10-4) is led by Amber Jamestown and Melinda Joseph, while Hoonah (6-10, 5-9) is paced by Alice Lee and Tressa Barros. Klawock (12-7, 10-4) is led by Jessica Peters and Molly Sharp. Skagway (4-16, 4-10) is led by Kristin Ray and Kristina Knorr. Kake (10-4, 10-4) features Danielle Knudsen and Robin Knudsen, while Gustavus (2-12, 2-12) is led by Angela Kearns.

The topseeded Angoon boys basketball team had a chance to enter the region tournament undefeated among Southeast Class 2A teams, but suffered a loss to Kake in their season finale last Wednesday. That means the boys tournament could be wide open.

The Angoon Eagles will play Thorne Bay at 9:45 a.m. to open the boys bracket on Thursday. Hoonah plays Yakutat at 1:30 p.m., Skagway plays Klawock at 5:15 p.m. and Kake plays Hydaburg at 9 p.m. The boys semifinals are at 5:15 p.m. and 9 p.m. on Friday, and the championship game is at 5:15 p.m. on Saturday.

Angoon (16-4 overall, 13-1 region) is led by Jason Frank, Walter Kookesh and Lester Pitka, while Thorne Bay (1-20, 1-11) is paced by Sam Sawyer and Ezra Clark. Hoonah (11-9, 7-7) is led by Jarrett Brown, Donald Dybdahl and Moises Contreras, while Yakutat (8-12, 7-7) is carried by Jake Endicott, Wayne Gray, Derek James and Martin Sensmeier.

Skagway (13-7, 9-5) is led by Mitchell Snyder and Ray Hosford, while Klawock (6-13, 4-10) features Darrin Clark. Kake (14-3, 12-2) is guided Anthony Dolan and Josh Hawk, and Hydaburg is paced by Alva Peratrovich.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us