Small schools tourney begins

Posted: Wednesday, March 22, 2000

The top-seeded Yakutat Eagles will play the Hydaburg Warriors in the opener of the Region V-Class 2A girls basketball tournament Thursday at Juneau-Douglas High School.

Yakutat plays Hydaburg at 8 a.m. to open the three-day tournament, with the Angoon Eagles playing the Hoonah Braves at 11:45 a.m., the defending Class 2A state champion Klawock Chieftains playing the Skagway Panthers at 3:30 p.m. and the Kake Thunderbirds playing the Gustavus Foxes at 7:15 p.m. to wrap up the girls' first-round games.

Friday's semifinals are at 3:30 p.m. and 7:15 p.m., and Saturday's championship game will be at 7 p.m. for the girls. The two teams that reach the championship game will both advance to the Class 2A state tournament March 30-April 1 at Service High School in Anchorage.

The Eagles (18-2 overall and 14-0 in region play) are led by 5-8 junior forward Jasmine James, who averages 13 points a game and has been called the best all-around player in the league by Kake coach Glenn Padgett.

Yakutat is also led by Stephanie Johnson and Rebecca Widdows. Miranda Adams leads Hydaburg (1-13 overall, 1-13 region).

Angoon (12-6, 10-4) is led by Amber Jamestown and Melinda Joseph, while Hoonah (6-10, 5-9) is paced by Alice Lee and Tressa Barros. Klawock (12-7, 10-4) is led by Jessica Peters and Molly Sharp. Skagway (4-16, 4-10) is led by Kristin Ray and Kristina Knorr. Kake (10-4, 10-4) features Danielle Knudsen and Robin Knudsen, while Gustavus (2-12, 2-12) is led by Angela Kearns.

The topseeded Angoon boys basketball team had a chance to enter the region tournament undefeated among Southeast Class 2A teams, but suffered a loss to Kake in their season finale last Wednesday. That means the boys tournament could be wide open.

The Angoon Eagles will play Thorne Bay at 9:45 a.m. to open the boys bracket on Thursday. Hoonah plays Yakutat at 1:30 p.m., Skagway plays Klawock at 5:15 p.m. and Kake plays Hydaburg at 9 p.m. The boys semifinals are at 5:15 p.m. and 9 p.m. on Friday, and the championship game is at 5:15 p.m. on Saturday.

Angoon (16-4 overall, 13-1 region) is led by Jason Frank, Walter Kookesh and Lester Pitka, while Thorne Bay (1-20, 1-11) is paced by Sam Sawyer and Ezra Clark. Hoonah (11-9, 7-7) is led by Jarrett Brown, Donald Dybdahl and Moises Contreras, while Yakutat (8-12, 7-7) is carried by Jake Endicott, Wayne Gray, Derek James and Martin Sensmeier.

Skagway (13-7, 9-5) is led by Mitchell Snyder and Ray Hosford, while Klawock (6-13, 4-10) features Darrin Clark. Kake (14-3, 12-2) is guided Anthony Dolan and Josh Hawk, and Hydaburg is paced by Alva Peratrovich.

Page not found | Juneau Empire - Alaska's Capital City Online Newspaper

Page not found

We're sorry, but the page you were seeking does not exist. It may have been moved or expired.  Perhaps our search engine can help. 



  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback