McKoy, Rhea make Class 4A girls all-tourney team

Juneau senior, freshman among 10 chosen for squad

Posted: Tuesday, March 23, 2004

Juneau's Tasha McKoy and Talisa Rhea were named to the Class 4A girls all-tourney team at last weekend's state basketball tournament in Anchorage.

McKoy, a senior, and Rhea, a freshman, were among 10 players on the team. The Crimson Bears finished second at state, losing to Dimond in Saturday's championship game.

Other Southeast players to make all-tourney teams in Anchorage last weekend were:

• Katrina Berg, Petersburg (Class 3A girls)

• Britni Birchell, Petersburg (Class 3A girls)

• Chris Bryant, Metlakatla (Class 3A boys)

• Bunky Keyes, Mount Edgecumbe (Class 3A girls)

• Matt Mercier, Mount Edgecumbe (Class 3A boys)

Among other awards, McKoy and junior Mary Rehfeld were named to the Good Sport Team from Juneau, and Ketchikan's Jesse LeBeau won the Class 4A boys 3-point contest.


Skagway's Thomas Knorr and Hoonah's Kristi Skaflestad were honored for their achievements on the court and in the classroom at last weekend's Region V-Class 2A basketball tournament in Ketchikan.

Knorr and Skaflestad each made the All-Region Team and the All-Academic Team at the tourney.

Other boys players on the All-Region Team were Dustin Bowen, Hoonah; Kyle Dierick, Yakutat; David Edenshaw, Hydaburg; Donny Gray, Thorne Bay; Tracy Jackson, Kake; Bailey Johnson, Angoon; Stephen Johnson, Angoon; Derek Knudsen, Kake; George Peratrovich, Hydaburg; Jared Williams, Klawock.

Other girls players on the All-Region Team were Savannah Ames, Skagway; Teresa Dyson, Angoon; Lakrista Ekis, Kake; Hannah Esbenshade, Yakutat; Marcie Grant, Hydaburg; Jacquoi James, Yakutat; Crystal Ketterman, Skagway; Alisa Meece, Klawock; Cassandra Peters, Hoonah; Kaleigh Ryno, Klawock; Jessica Williams, Angoon.

Other tournament participants on the All-Academic Team were:

• Hoonah: Candy Keown, girls basketball

• Kake: Larry Jackson, boys basketball; Stacy Earnest, girls basketball, Kori DeBell, cheerleading

• Hydaburg: David Edenshaw, boys basketball; Ben Young, boys basketball; Reginald Nathan, boys basketball; Selina Tolson, girls basketball; Karmen Edenshaw, girls basketball.

• Klawock: Jared Williams, boys basketball; Danielle Sather, girls basketball; Alisa Meece, girls basketball.

The Kake and Skagway cheerleading teams each received outstanding ratings, and the Skagway contingent won the sportsmanship award.

In the 3-point shooting competition, Skagway's Ames won the girls contest and Hoonah's Bowen won the boys event.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us