Awards, honors, enlistments and graduations

Posted: Friday, March 24, 2000

Amy Lynne Pisa was named to the honor roll at Western Washington University in Bellingham, Wa., for the fall quarter of 1999.

Lorri Lynn Wilson has earned a bachelor of science degree in sociology from the University of Oregon, based in Eugene.

Londi M. Tamaro was named to the dean's list for the fall semester at Lewis & Clark College in Portland, Ore. She is a junior majoring in biology.

Abby Blair, a former Juneau-Douglas High School cheerleader and a cheerleader at Mississippi State University, has maintained a 4.0 grade point average at the university. She is a junior majoring in biochemistry.

Clarence S. Milton III recently joined the Navy for guaranteed training in the Air Search and Rescue Program. He will attend basic training at the Recruit Training Center in Great Lakes, Ill.

Four Alaska Army National Guard soldiers were recently recognized for skill in operating and maintaining motor vehicles. Receiving the Drivers Badge Award were Staff Sgt. Ernie Carrillo, Sgt. Mauricio Yadao, Sgt. Angel Piol and Staff Sgt. Demetrio Lumba.

Matthew A. Haug, a 1999 graduate of Sitka High School, has enlisted in the U.S. Army as a Multiple Launch Rocket System Crewmember and recently left for basic training at Fort Jackson, S.C.

Two Juneau students are on the spring semester staff of The Whitman College Pioneer, a weekly newspaper produced at the campus in Walla Walla, Wa. Genevieve Gagne-Hawes is the news editor and David Hawes is a staff member.

Six youths were recognized as winners of a local poster contest sponsored by the American Academy of Pediatric Dentists, which occurs nationwide each February. The first place winner in the senior group was Loren Linnart, followed by Jessica Gray in second place and Jessica Rose Maniak in third. Winning the junior group was Aaron D. Bodilla, with Nathanial S. Johnson second and Mark C. Bautista third.

Cherie Rudolph received the People's Choice award at the Capital City Quilters 15th annual awards for ``Blue Delft.'' Other winners, selected by guild members include: Francie Schrup-Foley, first in the traditional quilts category, with Cherie Rudolph placing second; Elaine Braun winning the appliqued quilts category, followed by Mary Bardone; and Claire Ishii winning the contemporary quilts category, followed by Barbara Knapp and Ruth Johnson.

Rebecca Rozell, a 1994 graduate of JDHS and of Skidmore College in Saratoga Springs, N.Yy., is now performing in Boston with the Nicola Hawkins Dance Company. In addition to her company performances, Rebecca is competing in Ballroom Dance and has taken five first place awards. She and her partner specialize in Latin style Ballroom Dance. Rebecca's next performances with the Nicola Hawkins Company are May 12, 13 and 14 in Boston.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us