Hydaburg wins 2nd straight B championship

Haida sink 33 of 35 free throw to seal title

Posted: Sunday, April 02, 2006

The Hydaburg Haida pulled away from the Metlakatla Merchants in the second half, winning convincingly 93-70 to repeat as the Juneau Lions Club Gold Medal Tournament Mighty B Bracket champions Saturday.

Led by All-Tournament selections Matt Carl with 23 points and Darren Edenshaw with 20, Hydaburg bounced back from its Thursday loss to the Merchants.

"We just came out hungry because we lost to them - that's all we were focusing on," Edenshaw said.

Metlakatla, who trailed 40-38 at halftime, kept close until midway through the second half.

The Merchants trailed 57-53 with 11 minutes left, but the team's shooting went cold as Metlakatla made just three baskets in the next eight minutes.

Metlakatla also recorded its 10th team foul with 10:26 remaining, sending Hydaburg to the line for two foul shots for every foul for the rest of the game.

The Haida took advantage, sending the ball inside and capitalizing on their free-throw opportunities. The lead quickly increased to 69-57 with seven minutes remaining in the game.

"They started getting in foul trouble and that definitely helped," Hydaburg's Sid Edenshaw said. " We had a lot of free throws tonight."

Hydaburg finished the game shooting 31 of 35 from the foul line.

The champs also shot well from outside, scoring 12 3-pointers on the night.

As the Haida lead increased, the Merchants' shooting became more desperate as they fell further behind, never to recover.

"We started playing better team ball as the tournament went on," Sid Edenshaw said. "Fortunately, some good shots dropped for us tonight and we played good defense tonight."

What: 60th annual Juneau Lions Club Gold Medal Tournament..

When: Ended Saturday.

Where: Juneau-Douglas High School gym.

For more: Refer to today's Empire and www.juneauempire.com/goldmedal.

Friday's trivia question: In 1970, the Gold Medal tournament instituted an "Inspirational Award" to honor this Juneau ANS star, who died in a boating accident less than one week before the tournament began. What was his name?

Friday's answer: Dale Nottingham. Congratulations to Dennis Gray for supplying the correct answer!

Hydaburg's determination to redeem themselves for Thursday's defeat was evident from the start. Hydaburg played aggressively throughout the first half, twice opening nine-point leads and threatening to pull away.

However, Metlakatla refused to go away. Led by All-Tournament selections Richie and Willie Hayward, who combined for 31 points, the Merchants time and again raised their level of play and drew close to Hydaburg.

Willie Hayward's 3-pointer with 30 seconds remaining in the first half tied the score at 38 and ignited the Metlakatla fans.

Sound off on the important issues at

Hydaburg took back the lead and maintained it the rest of the way.

For Hydaburg, Devin Edenshaw scored 17 points. George Peratrovich had 14 and Archie Young scored 11 while Tony Peele, Travis Young, Joe Young and Sid Edenshaw each tallied two points.

For Metlakatla, Richie Hayward scored 16 points and Willie Hayward scored 15. Chevy Cook scored 13, and Mike Henderson added 12 in the loss.

Also for the Merchants, Chris Booth had six points, Bryan Hayward four, Anthony Gogert three and Marty Martinez, Jr. one.

Mighty B Awards

All-tournament team

Curtis Lane, Angoon

Brian Friske, Haines

Mike Smith, Kake

Scott Jackson, Kake

Nate Strong, Huna ANB

Travis Dybdahl, Huna ANB

Willie Hayward, Metlakatla

Richie Hayward, Metlakatla

Darren Edenshaw, Hydaburg

Sid Edenshaw, Hydaburg

Sportsmanship Award

Sid Edenshaw, Hydaburg

Most Valuable Player

Devin Edenshaw, Hydaburg

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us