Thank you letters

Posted: Wednesday, April 07, 2004

...for a successful hoedown

On behalf of Auke Bay School, I would like to extend our appreciation to the many people that helped make our recent Hoe Down on Feb. 20 a success. This is the only fund-raiser the music program has all year, and we are very thankful to the many volunteers who helped this year.

The following musicians donated their time and talents: Tom Paul was the caller, Jeff Day played fiddle, Sally Donaldson played piano, John Church played banjo and Colby Scheibler played guitar.

Finally, a special thank you to Auke Bay School's volunteer parents, Suzanne Malter and her family for their efforts in organizing and helping to sell refreshments for the event. Many students, friends and families turned out for a fun-filled evening full of dance and music.

Ann Boochever

Music teacher

Auke Bay School

... for help with Women of Distinction dinner

AWARE's Eighth Annual Women of Distinction Dinner and Silent Auction of March 13, was a magnificent success. It was a privilege to recognize this year's honorees: Beth Belflower, Mildred Boesser, Laury Scandling and Vicki Soboleff for their dedication to our community and the inspirational example of how they live their lives.

The joy of the evening would not have been possible without the volunteer work of many people offering generous gifts of time, energy and heart.

AWARE would like to thank the following: first lady Nancy Murkowski and Rep. Beth Kertulla for their thoughtful remarks and for presenting the awards; Jim Simard, D.J. Lindsey, Steven Ryals and Heather Castillo for transformative lighting design; Liz Dodd for performing the emcee duties with exceptional humor; The Robert Cohen Jazz Trio for musical entertainment; The All Nation's Childrens' Dance Group for a great performance; Amy Carroll for producing a wonderful program; Jeanette St. George for beautiful graphics; Karin Siebenmorgen for program photography; and Rie Munoz for allowing us to use her artwork on the program cover.

AWARE would also like to thank the individuals, businesses and organizations who provided financial support: First National Bank Alaska and Wells Fargo for corporate sponsorship; True North Federal Credit Union; Nell Wagoner and Kathy Kartchner, Juneau Family Birth Center; Sam Kito Jr.; Mendenhall Auto Center; Seventh Heaven; Joy Neyhart; George Brown; Thomas McCabe; Shattuck and Grummett; PFLAG; Rosemary Hagevig; The Plumbing and Heating Co.; Pavitt Chiropractic; Gastineau Human Services; Alaska Litho; Ike and Donna Isaak; Jensen,Yorba, Lott; Tlingit and Haida Central and Community Council; Nancy Murkowski; Al Adams; Lin Davis and Mo Longworth; Lynette Cole; Margaret Post Smith, Vivian Hegg, Margaret Speidel, Patti Bland and Carol Biggs for financial support.

We would also like to thank the hundreds of people who attended the dinner, the businesses and individuals who donated to the silent auction, all who made a financial contribution or purchased an ad in the program book. The proceeds from AWARE's Women of Distinction Dinner and Silent Auction further our healing work with survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault and child abuse. This event is a wonderful opportunity to honor women who have made a difference while supporting work to end violence in our community.

Finally, I would like to thank AWARE's dedicated board of directors: Sue Baxter, Marla Berg, Patti Bland, Barbara Belknap, Liz Blecker, Sarah Felix, John Leque, Jackie Martin, Angela Salerno, David Tracy and the staff at AWARE who worked tirelessly to bring the details of the event to life.

Thank you, one and all.

Saralyn Tabachnick

Executive Director

... to shoot boosters

Many thanks to Steve Bennett, Bruce Bowler, Brian Buck, Chuck Cohen, Tammy Kramer, Kirk McBride, Maureen Renkes, Douglas Wickre and Scott Yarnall and any other members of the Juneau Gun Club who helped set up targets, prepare food, serve coffee, stand in the rain (for a little while) and provide technical assistance to all of the shooters who participated in the 7th annual Legislative 3-Gun Shoot on Saturday, March 27. Although we were all a little disappointed that we couldn't disprove the prescience of the team aptly named "First Place," we congratulate Rep. Bruce Weyhrauch, Doug Bailey and Lynn Bennett on their win.

Annette Kreitzer and Kelly Huber

(Unofficial 3-Gun Shoot Boosters)

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us