Alaska on Paper

Posted: Thursday, April 08, 2010

"Salmon in the Tongass: Life in Alaska's Tongass Rain Forest," edited by Amy Gulick, withillustrations by Ray Troll

This book explores the entire ecosystem of the Tongass National Forest - its habitat, wildlife, and people. Here, millions of wild salmon are the crucial link between the forest and the sea, and shape both animal and human lives. With camera and rain gear in hand, photographer Amy Gulick spent more than two years trekking and paddling among the bears, misty islands, and salmon streams to document the intricate connections within the Tongass.

The book includes essays from renowned conservationists, scientists, and journalists, as well as salmon-spawned illustrations from artist Ray Troll.

"North by Northwestern: ASeafaring Family on Deadly Alaskan Waters," by Sig Hansen and Mark Sundeen

In the tradition of Sebastian Junger and Linda Greenlaw comes Captain Sig Hansen's rags-to-riches epic of his immigrant family's struggle against deadly Alaskan seas, freezing shipwrecks, and dangerously brutal conditions to achieve the American Dream

Built around a gripping tale of a deadly shipwreck like "The Perfect Storm," "North By Northwestern" is the multi-generational tale of the Hansen family, a clan of tough Norwegian-American fishermen who, through the popularity of "The Deadliest Catch," have become modern folk-heroes.

"The Great Alaskan Adventure with Zombies," by J. Kevin Burchfield

"The Great Alaskan Adventure with Zombies" is a tale of government deceit, cover up, beer... and of course zombies.

Juneau author J. Kevin Burchfield loves to hunt and fish in the Great Land. As a fishing guide he enjoys sharing his adventures with friends, family, or anyone else foolish or brave enough to share his passions. He makes his home in beautiful Juneau, where he hunts, fishes, guides, brews beer, drinks beer, and dreams up crazy stuff like this story with his wife Cindy and their two dogs, Moose and Whiskey.

"Alaska, Tenth AnniversaryEdition," by Nick Jans and Art Wolfe

These 150 images take the reader from the lush Southeast to the singular Denali Mountain and across the northern tundra. The tenth anniversary edition of Alaska features landscape-format photography, with sections including "Mountain," "River and Lake," "Tundra," "Sea and Coast," "Forest," and "Island."

"Amazing Alaska: A Raven's Eye View," by Deb Vanasse, K.E. Lewis

Cornelius Randolph Raven (C. R. for short) is an opinionated but highly informed host of this expedition across Alaska. Join him as he introduces and explains all of the things that make Alaska such a remarkable place. Here are big fat and hungry mosquitoes, five different kinds of whales, lush wet rain forests, glaciers that go for miles, exploding mountains, chilly permafrost, giant vegetables, and black gold (oil).



CONTACT US

  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback

ADVERTISING

SUBSCRIBER SERVICES

SOCIAL NETWORKING