... for supporting JAHC

Thank you letter

Posted: Friday, April 09, 2004

The wearable art runway show, sponsored by the Juneau Arts and Humanities Council, is our primary fund-raiser for our grant and scholarship program. This year's show, "Rampaging Imagination" (Feb. 20 at the ANB Hall) featured a southern belle dress delicately crafted from wood, young girl's dresses made with intricate designs of Skittles candy and a Tlingit King - yes, Elvis in Tlingit regalia. The evening is a grand showcasing of Juneau's clever, talented artists. The artists and models did an outstanding job, the arts council's Board of Trustees worked many volunteer hours in preparation of this big show. The silent auction earned thousands of dollars toward our grant and scholarship program.

On behalf of the Board of Trustees of the Juneau Arts and Humanities Council, I want to publicly thank those who contributed to the silent auction: Alaska Airlines, Wings of Alaska, Alaska Marine Lines, The Friendly Planet, Sportsman Barbershop, Glacier Optical, Elaine Schroeder, Annie Kaill's, Specialty Imports, The Hangar Restaurant, TEMSCO Helicopters, Linda Buckley, Kodiak Coat Company, Theatre in the Rough, Silverbow Inn, Invisible World, Perseverance Theatre, Juneau Symphony Orchestra, Barbara Craver, Lisa Blacher, Dan Hopson, Nancy Karacand, Mary Bowen, Phyllice Bradner, Diane Anderson, Nancy DeCherney, Sue Sloss, Amy Dressel, New Moon Dancers, Rob and Koren Bosworth, Sherri Brown, Milt Barker, Dick Monkman and Tina Kobayashi, Jane Stokes, Ben Brown, Teri Rasmussen, Dawn Findley-Groves, Joann Grady, Joanie Waller, Margaret Dowling and Jim Thompson, Antonio Diaz and Heather Haugland, John DeCherney, Gerd and Carol Kraus.

This truly is a community show that enlists much community support. An additional thank you goes to the Westmark Baranof Hotel, the Alaskan Brewery, the Juneau Empire for its outstanding coverage and support, KTOO, Bullwinkles Pizza Parlor and the Alaska State Museum; our emcees: Colette Costa and Ben Brown; director: Deborah Smith; set: Carol Tocco, Dave DePew, Lucas Hoiland and his high school crew and Jeff Graham; lights: Jim Simard and Dan Peterson; promotion, Joan Pardes; house: Sharon Gaiptman, Diane Sly, Dan Hopson, Peter Freer and Jeff Sloss; volunteer coordinator: Teri Rasmussen; hospitality: Steve Hamilton, Myrna Elgee and Nancy Hemenway; silent Auction: Sherri Brown, Katie Corbus and Jane Stokes (also decorations); video production: Lucid Reverie's Sarah Asper Smith, Pat Race and Aaron Suring; model coach: Terri Gamble and Jamie McLean; sound: Carrick Davis; volunteers: Christopher Wright, Pona Samuel, Lora Martin, Bart Watson, John Leo, Lisa Gardner, Lissa Kramer, Abe Wiley, Heidi Martin, Ellen and Scott Carrlee, Andrea Doll, Heidi Reifenstein, Cameron Young, Elizabeth Medgyesy, John Parent, Marti Dilley, Karen Lechner, Mike Peterson, Amber Guy, Emily Hemenway, Calvin Anderson, Elizabeth Clement, Jeff Graham, Carrie Norris, Anne-Marie Martin, Jill Zinszer, Michelle Prebula, Kristen Spencer, Eric Nelson, Cheryl Eldemar, Robert Muller and the staff at the ANB Hall.

With your help, our fund-raiser was a big success. Now it is time for students to apply for scholarships! Any student between seventh and 12th grade, who would like to audition for a fine arts scholarship, please visit your counselor's office to pick up an application. Call the arts council at 586-2787, or go to www.juneauartscouncil.org and pick up an application.

The application deadline is April 19, and the audition date is April 25. Graduating seniors, or those with a GED and who are 25 and younger, may apply for the advanced achievement award. Same deadlines apply. Scholarships may be used for workshops, materials, lessons, equipment, etc.

Sybil Davis, E.D. and Katie Corbus, President of Board of Trustees

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us