Local Briefs

Posted: Monday, April 12, 2004

Juneau Jumpers head to U.S. World Team qualifier

Five members of the Juneau Jumpers competitive jump rope team are headed to the U.S. World team Qualifying Tournament that takes place April 23-25 at Cleveland State University in Cleveland, Ohio.

Isabel Bush, Tera Ross, Amber Johnson, Lesley Kalbrener and Nicole Lim will compete in the female age 15-17 division against some of the top jumpers in the country. The winners will represent the United States at the World Jump Rope Championships that take place in July in Brisbane, Australia. The Juneau Jumpers are coached by Scott and Donna Johnson.

The five jumpers - some of whom have been jumping rope since the first grade - will compete in eight events in both single-rope and double-Dutch events. Four events involve speed and power, while four involve freestyle routines done to music. Amber Johnson also will compete in the individual Grand Masters' competition.

The Juneau Jumpers have been training four days a week since mid-November for this competition. Three years ago, a Juneau Jumpers squad represented the United States in international competition in Belgium.

The girls will demonstrate their world routines in a free show at 3 p.m. Sunday, April 18, at the Glacier Valley Elementary School gym.

Juneau J4/J5 skiers excel at state championships

Matthew Vandor won and shared another state title, while K.C. Kent claimed two titles outright and Sophia Wahto also won a title to lead Juneau Ski Club members at the 2004 Alaska J4/J5 Alpine Ski Championships held March 12-14 at Moose Mountain Ski Area near Fairbanks.

The meet, for skiers born in 1991-94, featured athletes from Juneau, Fairbanks, Anchorage and Girdwood. Separate races were held in the J4 (born 1991-92) and J5 (1993-94) age groups.

In the J5 boys giant slalom race held on March 14, Vandor tied with Alyeska Ski Club's Tanner Cabana to share the title with identical two-run times of 1 minute, 26.40 seconds. Vandor had the fastest time in the first run, 45.85 seconds compared to Cabana's 46.55, but Cabana was able to catch Vandor on the second run.

Ezekiel Rohloff of Juneau took third place in the same race in 1:29.20, while Peter Peel was sixth in 1:32.97, Alexander Erickson ninth (1:34.41) and Tatsu Monkman 17th (1:49.78). Brian Vandor was the only Juneau skier in the J4 giant slalom race, finishing second in 1:24.88.

In the girls J5 giant slalom race, Kent won the title with a 1:33.32 while Nicole Stangeland was third in 1:36.21. Wahto won the J4 girls race in 1:25.25 and Heather Hoffman was 12th in 1:48.91.

In the slalom race held March 13, Kent claimed the J5 girls title in 1:34.18 while Stangeland was fourth in 1:59.71. In the J4 race, Hoffman finished 12th in 2:07.65 while Wahto was disqualified for missing a gate.

Matthew Vandor took second place in the J5 boys slalom race with a time of 1:30.31, while Rohloff was fifth (1:34.16), Erickson was eighth (1:38.68), Peel 11th (1:45.43) and Monkman 17th (1:56.92). In the J4 slalom race, Brian Vandor had the second-fastest first-run time, but he missed a gate and had to climb back to get it in his second run, which dropped him into 12th place in 2:13.28.

Matthew Vandor won the J5 boys Super-G race on March 12 with a time of 40.94. Rohloff was third (42.86), Erickson was seventh (43.96), Peel ninth (44.99) and Monkman tied for 16th (48.84). In the boys J4 race, Brian Vandor took fourth place in 39.66.

Kent took second place in 42.91 in the J5 girls Super-G race and Stangeland was third in 45.49. Wahto was third in the girls J4 race in 40.95, while Hoffman did not start .

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us