Empire photos, column, cartoons, win top honors at Press Club awards

Juneau paper competes with Anchorage Daily News, Fairbanks Daily News-miner

Posted: Monday, April 18, 2005

Juneau Empire photos, columns and editorial cartoons from 2004 garnered top honors when Alaska Press Club awards were announced Saturday night in Anchorage.

Empire photographers Brian Wallace and Michael Penn, columnist Rebecca Braun and cartoonist Tony "Toe" Newman each won first-place awards for their work. The Empire, competing in the large-papers division along with the Anchorage Daily News and Fairbanks Daily News-Miner, among others, won a total of 12 awards.

Wallace won first place in the sports photo category for his shot of Kake Tlingit Heat basketball players Nick Davis and Rudy Bean celebrating a Gold Medal tournament win in March 2004.

Penn took top honors in the scenic photo category for a January 2004 shot of a seagull gliding over Gastineau Channel at sunrise. Penn also won a second-place award in the sports photo division for a May 2004 shot of a hurdling mishap at a high school track meet.

Newman, whose cartoons appear on Sunday's Empire opinion pages, won first place in editorial cartooning for the fourth time in five years.

Braun, co-editor of the Alaska Budget Report and a frequent contributor to the Empire's opinion pages, won first place for her Empire columns.

The Empire sports department won four awards. Sports editor Andrew Krueger won second place in headline writing and third place in sports event reporting for his coverage of last August's Frank Maier Marathon. Former sports editor Charles Bingham won second place in sports event reporting for his coverage of the Juneau-Douglas High School football team beating East Anchorage last October in the state playoffs, and he won third place in sports news reporting for his story on a double-forfeit Little League tournament game last July.

Empire natural resources reporter Elizabeth Bluemink won second place in environmental reporting for her coverage of the Kensington gold mine in July 2004; page designer Michael Plett won third place for page design for the Empire's front page coverage of the Subway building fire last August; and former Empire legislative reporter Tim Inklebarger won third place for sustained coverage for his stories on the Alaska Marine Highway System office relocation in March 2004.

Of the 91 total awards handed out in the large- and all-circulation newspaper categories, the Anchorage Daily News won 40. The Anchorage Press was second with 16 awards, followed by the Empire with 12 and the Fairbanks Daily News-Miner with eight.

Anchorage Daily News reporter Paula Dobbyn won first place in investigative reporting for her coverage of former Alaska Attorney General Gregg Renkes' business dealings, and Fairbanks Daily News-Miner reporter Diana Campbell and photographer Eric Engman won the public service award for their series on growing cancer rates among Alaska Natives.

Juneau's KTOO-FM and CoastAlaska won seven radio awards, including first-place honors for Anne Sutton in business reporting and arts reporting; for Rosemarie Alexander in health/science reporting; and for Sutton and Ed Schoenfeld, among others, in comprehensive reporting.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us