Empire, KTOO win journalism awards

Posted: Wednesday, April 25, 2001

Juneau Empire articles were chosen as the top investigative, education and arts reports of the year 2000 in the annual Alaska Press Club news media competition.

Riley Woodford's report on local sales of real and imitation Native artwork, "The Art of Tricking Tourists," placed first in the press club's investigative reporting category. Kristan Hutchison's article, "Juneau Bingo, Pull-tab Operations Under Investigation," placed second. Hutchison, former Empire writer Mike Stewart, editor Lori Thomson and other staff contributed to Woodford's winning article, which also tied for first in the best coverage of the arts category.

Other Empire awards from the contest included:

Eric Fry's "Testing the Tests" placed first in best reporting on education.

Nita Nettleton's opinion pieces placed first in the columnist category, also known as the Suzan Nightingale Award.

Artwork by Toe (Tony Newman), "Alaska Ballot Measures," placed first in the editorial cartoons section.

The Empire Internet site juneaualaska.com placed second in the Web site category.

Charles Bingham's "Mountain Kings" placed second in the sports feature section.

Awards given to Juneau radio reporters included:

Anne Sutton of KTOO-FM tied for first place in best reporting, single story, for "Whittier Tunnel," and placed first in best reporting on a political issue for "Mackie Money" and best arts story for "Cross Sound."

Matt Miller of KTOO-FM placed first in best reporting on the environment for "Juneau Ice Field" and second in best feature story for "RR Centennial."

John Greely of KTOO-FM placed third in best reporting on a political issue for "State of State."

John Greely, Anne Sutton, Steve Will, Kathy Dye and Matt Miller of KTOO-FM placed first in best short newscast for "Morning News."

Awards given to Juneau TV reporters included:

Anne Sutton of KTOO-TV placed second in best reporting on a political issue for "Flightseeing."

John Greely, Jimmy Mahan, Heather Montez, Christopher Clark, Randy Burton, Terry Tavel and Skip Grey of KTOO-TV placed first in best ongoing TV public affairs program for "Alaska Week."

Dustin Grimes and Damon Steubner of Alaska Statewide News took second place in television feature reporting for "Mountain Rescue-East Glacier Trail".

KTUU-TV in Anchorage won the Alaska Press Club's Public Service Award for its coverage of the proposed property tax cap defeated by voters last fall.

Numerous other news media outlets won awards from the club. A full listing is posted on the Web site www.alaskapressclub.org.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us