Juneau Ski Club concludes its season with Eaglecrest Challenge

Brian Vandor wins slalom, giant slalom championships

Posted: Monday, April 30, 2007

The Juneau Ski Club closed out its season on April 7-8 with the Eaglecrest Challenge.

Sound off on the important issues at

Gabrielle Wahto wrapped up the women's giant slalom title with a total time of 1 minute, 0.55 seconds. Her runs of 30.22 and 30.33 were the best in the competition.

Sophia Wahto placed second in 1:01.51, while Nicole Stangeland finished third in 1:02.25.

Sarah Stare placed fourth, Stephanie Logan took fifth, and Deborah Kasberg placed sixth overall. Sarah Cohen, Ashley Dombrowski, Naomi Moritz and Alexandra Hiley rounded out the top 10.

Lucy Squibb captured the women's slalom championship with two blazing runs down Hillary's course. Squibb won with a total time of 1:25.23. Her runs of 42.52 and 42.72 were the two quickest performances in the event.

Gabrielle Wahto took second in 1:28.84 with Stangeland placing third and Kasberg finishing fourth. Stare took fifth, Sophia Wahto placed sixth and Sarah Cohen wrapped up seventh place in the slalom.

Moritz, Dombrowski, Ali Eason, Hiley and Logan also complete the course.

In the men's competition, Brian Vandor won the giant slalom and slalom races at Eaglecrest Ski Area.

In the men's giant slalom, Vandor nipped Alexander Erickson for the title. Vandor complete his two runs in 1:00.52 while Erickson finished in 1:00.92.

Tom Meiners took third in 1:01.27, Matt Vandor placed fourth, Dylan Eason took fifth, and Peter Peel placed sixth in the giant slalom. Also in the giant slalom, Clark Gruening took seventh, and Calder Otsea finished in eighth position.

Brian Vandor captured the slalom title as well in a time of 1:18.92.

Peter Nave took second in 1:25.73, followed by Erickson in 1:26.84 and Meiners in 1:29.41.

Peel, Matt Vandor, Gruening and Otsea rounded out the top eight finishers who complete the course.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us