Boozer named to All-Rookie 2nd team

Stoudemire, Yao top All-Rookie first team

Posted: Thursday, May 08, 2003

NEW YORK - Rookie of the Year Amare Stoudemire and No. 1 overall draft choice Yao Ming were unanimous choices for the NBA All-Rookie team announced Wednesday.

Phoenix forward Stoudemire, who entered the league straight from high school, and Houston center Yao both received the maximum 56 points in balloting by the league's head coaches.

Miami's Caron Butler (55 points), Orlando's Drew Gooden (45) and Denver's Nene Hilario (40) also made the team.

Cleveland power forward Carlos Boozer, a 1999 Juneau-Douglas High School graduate, made the All-Rookie second team. He was joined on the second team by San Antonio's Emanuel Ginobili, Orlando's Gordon Giricek, Chicago's Jay Williams and Boston's J.R. Bremer.

Boozer, a second-round pick (35th overall) by the Cavaliers last June, finished third in the NBA in field-goal percentage at .536. At the start of the season, Boozer came off the bench. But he worked his way into the starting lineup and led Cleveland with 21 double-doubles. Boozer finished the year with 10.0 points a game, 7.5 rebounds and 1.3 assists.

Boozer ranked first among rookies in field-goal percentage, third in rebounds, third in double-doubles, fifth in blocked shots (0.62 per game), eighth in free-throw percentage (.771), eighth in scoring and ninth in minutes played (25.3 per game).

Boozer is the first Cavalier to make the All-Rookie team since Chris Mihm was a second-team selection in 2000-01. Other Cavs to earn All-Rookie honors are Austin Carr (1971-72), Dwight Davis (1972-73), Brad Daugherty (1986-87), Ron Harper (1986-87), John Williams (1986-87), Terrell Brandon (1991-92 second team), Brevin Knight (1997-98), Zydrunas Ilgauskas (1997-98), Cedric Henderson (1997-98 second team), Derek Anderson (1997-98 second team) and Andre Miller (1999-2000).

Stoudemire led NBA rookies in rebounding (8.8) and tied for second in scoring (13.5) and blocked shots (1.06). He helped the Suns make the playoffs, where they were eliminated in the first round by top-seeded San Antonio.

Yao led rookies in blocks (1.79), was second in rebounding (8.2) and tied Stoudemire in scoring average. Butler led rookies in scoring (15.4), while Gooden was fifth (12.5) and Hilario was sixth (10.5).

In the voting, Yao and Stoudemire had 28 first-team votes and 56 points each. Butler had 27 first-team votes and 55 points, Gooden had 17 first-team votes and 45 points and Hilario had 13 first-team votes and 40 points.

On the second team, Ginobili picked up 13 first-team votes and 38 points, Giricek had seven first-team votes and 33 points, Boozer had five first-team votes and 28 points, Williams had three first-team votes and 28 points and Bremer had two first-team votes and 18 points.

Others receiving votes and earning honorable mention status included Cleveland's Dajuan Wagner (13 points), Detroit's Mehmet Okur (11), Marco Jaric of the Los Angeles Clippers (six), Golden State's Mike Dunleavy (four), Miami's Rasual Butler (two), Denver's Junior Harrington (two), Mike Batiste of Memphis (two), Washington's Juan Dixon (one), Denver's Vincent Yarbrough (one), Seattle's Reggie Evans (one) and Casey Jacobsen of Phoenix (one).

The voting panel was comprised of the league's 29 head coaches, who were asked to select five players for the first team and five for the second team regardless of position. The coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players. Players received two points for a first-team vote and one point for a second-team pick.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us