Posted: Wednesday, May 09, 2007

Rachel Cohen, majoring in english and writing, and Andrea Sharp, majoring in psychology, were named to the Southern Oregon University's dean's list for the winter 2007 term.

Sound off on the important issues at


Marita Lynn Rodriguez, of Juneau, was named to the dean's list for winter quarter 2007 at the University of Washington. Her academic achievement was recognized in lieu of her excellent academic record and achievements.


Courtney Christine Mason, a 2001 Juneau-Douglas High School graduate, is a candidate for a Bachelor of Arts and Science with a minor in education at the University of Alaska Fairbank's spring commencement on Sunday. Mason has been accepted to the UAF School of Education's graduate program and will pursue a Masters in Guidance and Counseling in the fall.


Rena Dalman, of Juneau, was recognized for outstanding academic achievement by being named to the chancellor's list at University of Alaska Anchorage for achieving a 4.0 grade-point average for the 2007 spring semester.


In recognizing excellence in school nursing practice and leadership in school health Janet Capito was recently awarded Alaska's School Nurse of the Year from Gastineau Elementary School and the Juneau Charter School.

Capito has been a school nurse for 11 years at the elementary school level. She witnessed a high turnover of nurses in the Juneau School District and because of that has become a great source of knowledge and support to each and every nurse who comes on board from the elementary to high school level. Despite the fact that Juneau does not have a registered nurse to coordinate the school nurse program that includes 9 R.Ns, she has stepped in with no extra pay or benefits to "take charge" and be a school nurse leader, mentor and district nurse coordinator.

She has been the coordinator for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Fundraiser at her school for several years. She teaches children who are healthy to appreciate the need to care for and support others.

She has been very actively involved in demonstrating the complex and comprehensive work that the school nurse performs in order to bolster the wages and image of the school nurse.

She helps organize health fairs in her own school and participates in them after school hours. She also did this on a district wide level for a district wide staff in-service this year.

She regularly volunteers at community health fairs and immunization clinics for children and adults, participates in local committees such as, the "Vaccinate Juneau Kids" coalition whose goal is improving immunization rates in Juneau. This group brainstorms monthly on ways to communicate important vaccine related issues. She represent her committee at the state of Alaska Vaccination Coalition meetings and to attend the annual ASNA Conference.


Pioneer Alaskan Ronald F. Cosgrave gifted the University of Alaska the single largest donation ever given to the University of Alaska by a living alumnus. Cosgrave's $2.6 million gift was made without any restrictions and is to be used at the discretion of the university president.

The gift was used to purchase 30 acres of undeveloped land in Fairbanks, directly across Geist Road from the UAF campus. The university has no definitive plans for developing property at the present time.

Cosgrave, 75, originally came to Alaska in 1954 in search of work. After being encouraged to enroll in classes by University of Alaska geology professor John McCall, Cosgrave was the first chemical engineering graduate of the University of Alaska. After graduation, Cosgrave was awarded a teaching fellowship at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and after a brief stint at MIT, he returned to Fairbanks.

Cosgrave was greatly influenced by University President Charles E. Bunnell and during his senior year, Cosgrave and a small group of other students formed Northern Alaska Development Corp. He was also instrumental in establishing College Utilities Crop in Fairbanks.

Cosgrave joined Alaska Airlines and is credited with saving Alaska Airlines from bankruptcy in the early 1970s. He served as chairman and chief executive officer of Alaska Airlines from 1972-1979 and now holds the distinction of being a chairman emeritus of the company.

Cosgrave served on the University of Alaska Foundation's Board of Trustees from 1979-1983, was named the 1978 Alumnus of the Year by the UAF Alumni Association and received an Honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in 2003.

For more information, contact UA Foundation Present Mary Rutherford at (907) 450-8030.


Audrey Wagner, of Juneau, received the $1,000 R. Robert Dale Scholarship for 2007 from Moose International.

R. Robert Dale Scholarship winners must mee eligibility criteria by being the child of, or under legal guardianship of, a Moose organization member in good standing and carry at least a 2.5 accumulated grade-point average.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us