Alaska Native Sisterhood Camps 2 & 70 hold membership tea

Posted: Friday, May 10, 2002

On Sunday April 28, Juneau's local Alaska Native Sisterhood Camps 2 and 70 hosted its second annual membership tea to honor each Camp's life members. Life members are women who have been members of the Alaska Native Sisterhood for 25years and who have reached the age of 65. Camp 2 has 17 life members and Camp 70 has seven.

The tea was fashioned after an English "high tea," and featured home made scones, fancy tea cookies and sandwiches, a special blend of Earl Grey tea infused with flowers, and china tea service on loan from various ANS members. The tea was organized by Norma Jean Dunne, who has hosted numerous tea parties in the past. Ms. Dunne was assisted by Alberta Aspen, President of Camp 2, Gail Napiahaa, President of Camp 70, Camp 2 member Cathy Thomas and Camp 70 member Roberta Wolfe.

In addition to numerous life members, the tea was attended by Stella Martin, ANS Grand President Emeritus; Doloresa Cadiente, ANS Grand President; ANS Executive Committee members Selena Everson, Ethel Lund, Jackie Martin and Emma Widmark; and Cecilia Kunz, President Emeritus of Camp 2. Celebrity waiters included Frances Dunne and Tlingit Haida Central Council President Ed Thomas

The Mildred Sparks Coogaynah award was presented to Harriet Roberts of Camp 2 and Teddy Castillo of Camp 70. The award is given to a member of a local camp who has distinguished herself by outstanding service to her Camp and community.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us