Thank you

Posted: Wednesday, May 11, 2005

... for supporting diversity

A big heartfelt thank you goes out to everyone who had a hand in making the Diversity Celebration a hit!

Thank you to everyone who provided the fabulous food: the Filipino Community; the Sons of Norway; Elfrida Nord, Elsa Demeksa and the University of Alaska Southeast students who provided fry bread; coffee and juice were donated by Heritage Coffee and McDonald's; and, of course, thank you to the National Guard for use of the Armory.

The performances by All Nations Children, the Alitaptap Dancers, the Drums of Light Singers, the Alaska Youth Choir and the Voices of Praise were phenomenal!

Laury Scandling-Roberts MC'd the entire event and she truly is a "master" - handling the glitches and glamour with grace.

Yaakoosge Daakahidi students volunteered their time to ensure everything ran smoothly and they took their jobs seriously!

Father Oleksa provided a dynamic, thought-provoking lecture on learning our culture. Minch, Ritter, Voelkers donated time and materials so we could display a banner, and Sign Pro spent endless hours on a vinyl banner, making sure everything was perfect!

Thank you to the owners of The Friendly Planet for graciously allowing us to use their space for our storytelling event, even though they were in the midst of chaos! The storytellers were amazing - Della Cheney, Allan Hayton, Grace Elliot, Becky Bear, Carolyn Garcia, Pete Griffin, George Holly and Pat McLear.

The museums in Juneau hosted special events as well, with speaker Stephen Haycox and author Miranda Belardi-Lewis. Grace Elliot put together an interfaith devotional and radio stations KTOO and KINY gave us special coverage for all events - thank you!

Exceptional thanks to the Association of Alaska School Boards and its Board of Directors for having the foresight to encourage this project from the beginning. Chris Beanes, our artistic director: Your vision, your time and your efforts sent a beautiful message that added immensely to our event. Thank you to Randy Wanamaker and to Coeur Alaska for the monetary donations in support of this project.

There were also many people on the diversity committee: Becca Braun, Bruce Botelho, Kolene James, Phyllis Carlson, Peter Metcalfe, Natalee Rothaus, Randy Wanamaker, Peggy Cowan, Myrna Dillon, Patricia Hull, Jodi Kilcup, Andrea Doll, Mary Becker, Laura Stats, Ronalda Cadiente, Elsa Demeksa, Mary Pat Wyatt, Jason Alexander, Mildred Boesser, Morris Carrillo, Ishmael Hope and Timi Tullis. All of these wonderful, dedicated people deserve special recognition for seeing this project through - thank you one and all!

Shelly Eidsness

Director, AFCCC

... for recruiting new youth volunteers

On April 8, the National Youth Service Day Senate Resolution, sponsored by Sen. Lisa Murkowski, passed with bipartisan support. Senate Resolution 338 recognizes and commends the significant contributions of young people dedicated to serving their neighbors, communities and nation. In Juneau, one week later, almost 300 youth volunteers participated in the largest service event in the world - involving an estimated three million participants.

Volunteers from SAGA, Floyd Dreyden, Mendenhall River Community School, Juneau-Douglas High School, Juneau Youth Services, Johnson Youth Center, Thunder Mountain Learning Center, Glacier Valley Elementary, University of Alaska Southeast and community home schools participated in a day of service at 18 project locations.

SAGA would like to thank the following contributors who helped recruit a new generation of citizens to be both participants and supporters of their community: Deputy Mayor Marc Wheeler, state Sen. Kim Elton, Youth Service America, Capitol Transit, Juneau Parks and Recreation, Litter Free Inc., Zach Gordon Youth Center, Breeze Inn, Silverbow Bakery, McDonald's, Fred Meyer, Super Bear, Alaskan and Proud, Juneau Wholesale, Costco and Safeway. Special thanks go to SAGA's Connections AmeriCorps members Angie Abel, Nikki Mealiff and Sondra Romano for coordinating the event.

Joe Parrish

Executive director, SAGA

... for making Hoe Down a success

On behalf of the Auke Bay School Community, I would like to extend appreciation and gratitude to all the people that helped make our annual Hoe Down a success. This family music evening was a fund raiser for our music program. We want to especially thank caller Tom Paul and the Just in Time String Band, including John Church, Martha Stey, Jeff Day and Colby Shibler.

Many thanks to the many volunteer parents who provided baked goods to sell and the following parents who assisted: Jackie and Phil Stewart, Suzanne Malter, Lisa Cramer and Lisa Lindman. All of your efforts made the evening a wonderful fun music night for everyone.

Ann Boochever,

Music teacher

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us