Thank You

Posted: Wednesday, May 15, 2002

... for the contributions.

The staff and families of the Juneau Valley Head Start would like to acknowledge the contributions of its parent committee. The parents collected prizes and organized a raffle to raise needed funds for the center.

Thanks to all the parents who participated in this very successful fund-raiser.

Thanks also to Veronica Whitehead for the prize donation of Tupperware and to the Prospector for donating a pair of meals.

Juneau Valley Head Start

...for all the help.

Mendenhall River Community School recently completed its 13th annual Read-A-Thon program. This reading incentive program helps students improve their literacy skills in a fun and challenging way with the support and camaraderie of their friends, teachers and families.

During the course of our eight-week program, students, family members and MRCS staff progress through six reading levels. Each level requires the participant to read 15 books, 180 minutes or 300 pages. This means that upon completion of the program, participants have read a total of 90 books, 1,080 minutes or 1,800 pages. The feeling of accomplishment and improved literacy skills for the students who realize this goal is invaluable.

This year 312 participants successfully completed all six levels of the program. These super readers were rewarded at an awards ceremony during which they received a gold medal, a certificate of achievement, a Broiler Restaurant coupon and a new book.

I would like to thank the following people and organizations who helped make this year's Read-A-Thon possible:

Our special guest speaker and gold medal presenter Susan Knowles; MRCS Principal Karen MacDonald; Carey Akagi, Read-A-Thon co-chair; Rene Holmes for coordinating an after-school reading club; the following parents and teachers for volunteering time to record student reading sheets: Diane Wilder, Pam Nelson, Lisa McDowell, Wendy Dalton, Marilyn Moblo, Lisa Currier, Deedie Sorensen, Harriet Culver, Shannon Ely, Joan Gianotti, Teresa Young, Rene Holmes, Janice Peyton, Widya Shepardson, Mary Pegues, Ernie Morton, Lisa Hayes and Sunshine Winn; Geoffrey Wyatt for assisting in the design and printing of the award certificates; MRCS PTO Co-presidents Lisa Golisek and Nancy Barto; the Broiler Restaurant, Hearthside Books and Duck Creek Market for generously providing discount coupons for the participants; MRCS library and office staff Randi Miller, Cindy Fairchild, Marcia Ballard, Audrey Diebels and Angie Hunt; the custodial staff; and finally, to all of the wonderful MRCS families who supported our young readers in this year's program. Your enthusiasm and encouragement have such a positive impact on their lives and their learning. Thank you and remember, read for fun every day!

Sara M. Raster, co-chairwoman



Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us