Neighbors Digest

staff reports

Posted: Friday, May 21, 2004

Fourth of July parade dedicated to past director

In celebration of the life of past director Beverly M. Dorsher (1932-2003), the Juneau Fourth of July Parade Committee has dedicated the 2004 parade to her, in recognition of her commitment to America, Alaska, Juneau and Douglas community services.

Douglas T. Wahto, a Word War II veteran, and Jeremy E. Lemke, a veteran who served in Kosovo and Iraq, have been appointed grand marshals of this year's parade. The parade theme is, "We Salute Freedom's Combat Heroes."

Entry forms will be available June 1 at the Mendenhall Valley library and at Centennial Hall Visitors Center. All entry forms are to be returned by June 30. For more information, visit

Memorial fund to accept funding applications

The Wythe Dornan and Brian Douglas Memorial Fund, a charitable foundation, will accept applications for funding support until June 1. The fund offers financial grants to organizations that benefit and enhance the health, education and welfare of individuals in Southeast Alaska.

Examples of possible fund financial support include, but are not limited to:

• Charitable organizations, foundations or other nonprofit organizations, schools or child care institutions in Southeast Alaska, foster parent programs and early childhood education programs.

• Individuals, within organizations, who are pursuing special training-education in any field or professional endeavor, for use in defraying costs for tuition, transportation or lodging expenses related to attendance at professional conferences, training or educational programs.

• Events or special services that enhance the overall quality of life, such as through amateur sports organizations or children's music and theater activities, and encourage participation through sponsorship of programs and events open to all individuals.

Applications will be evaluated on the quality of the program to be supported or attended, reasonableness and accuracy of proposed budget, background and experience of applicant, support from other sources, and appropriateness to the objectives of the fund.

Application forms may be obtained by contacting Paul D. Douglas, trustee, by mail at 5050 Thane Road, Juneau, AK 99801, or by calling (907) 463-3042. Completed applications must be mailed to the Juneau address and postmarked no later than June 1.

Baby-sitting classes scheduled for early June

Baby-sitting classes will be held from 1-4 p.m. June 7-9 at the American Red Cross offices. The course is for 11 to 15 year olds, and space is limited to 10 participants. Call the Red Cross at 463-5713 for more information.

Big Brothers, Big Sisters release fund-raiser results

Three Ketchikan volunteers won the top three regional prizes in the Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Southeast's Bowl For Kids' Sake fund-raiser contest.

Rob Skinner, owner of Lewis Motors, won the top prize with an agency record of $4,375 in pledges. Courtney Enright, 11, took second place with $3,755 and Dayna Hert, an employee at First Bank, placed third with $1,420.

"We're excited to award these high fund-raiser prizes," said Marc Wheeler, the Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Southeast executive director. "We do it to thank those folks who put in the extra effort raising money for Big Brothers, Big Sisters."

The top fund-raisers have their choice of a Caribbean cruise for two on Celebrity Cruises, two West Coast round-trip tickets on Alaska Airlines (including Mexico) or a yellow-gold diamond-tsavorite pendant or a gold-demantoid garnet ring from Fire and Ice in Juneau.

"It's exciting to see Ketchikan residents show such strong support for our local program," Wheeler said. "And it's so wonderful to see a young girl like Courtney work so hard so other Ketchikan youth can have the benefit of a Big Brother or Big Sister."

In addition to the top three regional prizes, another 20 Juneau bowlers and seven Ketchikan bowlers won high fund-raiser prizes donated by local businesses.

The Juneau bowlers were Diana Olson, Marc Wheeler, Tony Newman (declined prize), Bill Hurr (declined prize), Jenny Malecha, Pat Bock, Shelly Kincaid, Karen Tarver, Corinne Conlon, Pat Yearty, Jeremy Lundeman, Cynthia Brown, Ken Cox, Carolyn Porter, Nico Glocke, Tom Sciacotta, Julie Coffin, Andreah Decker, Bob Sauertig, Darin Floyd (declined prize), Cindy Cashen, Colleen McNulty and Fran Ulmer.

The Ketchikan bowlers were Jennifer Freeman, Scott Bowers, Nancy Hayward, John Feeney, Peggy Reid, Jaylyn Merrill and Marna Cessnun.

"We'd like to thank all the businesses who donated prizes to make these awards possible," said Gretchen Klein, Ketchikan program manager. "These high fund-raisers were one of the main reasons we were able to raise $24,000 for Ketchikan's kids in this year's Bowl For Kids' Sake and another $30,000 in Juneau."

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us