State Soccer Tournament Special Awards

Posted: Thursday, May 29, 2003

The special awards presented at the Alaska School Activities Association state soccer tournament, held Thursday through Saturday at Wasilla High School in Wasilla and Colony High School in Palmer. The Juneau-Douglas High School boys beat Service 1-0 to win their second title in three years, while the Service girls beat East Anchorage 7-1 to win their second straight championship.


Team sportsmanship award - Juneau-Douglas Crimson Bears.

Team academic award - Service Cougars, 3.53 GPA.

All-tournament team - Sienna Garrod, Colony; Dena Baskous, East Anchorage; Erin Gillespie, Service; Cheyenne Gillman, Wasilla; Joree McCarrey, Dimond; Jessy Post, Juneau-Douglas; Emily Thompson, West Anchorage; Molly Palmer, Service; Julie Coston, Colony; Colby Cardwell, Service; Felicia Sandvik, Palmer; Brynn Riordan, East Anchorage; Callan Janowiec, Juneau-Douglas; Sue Dahle, Service.

Skills contests

Speed dribbling - Emily Thompson, West Anchorage.

Shooting accuracy - Sarah Bundy, Service.

Penalty kicker - Sarah Bundy, Service.

Goalie - Kat Staser, West Anchorage.


Team sportsmanship award - Wasilla Warriors.

Team academic award - Grace Christian School Grizzlies, 3.48 GPA.

All-tournament team - Nick Van Kirk, Colony; Jorge Leon, Dimond; Adam Billings, Wasilla; Chris Amspacker, Service; Lee Sullivan, Juneau-Douglas; Colin Pennington, East Anchorage; Daniel Wilkens, Service; Loren Smith, Wasilla; Kirk Mearig, Juneau-Douglas; Landon Swank, Colony; Thayne Henderson, West Anchorage; Steven Booher, Grace Christian School; Kyle Thibodeau, Juneau-Douglas; Colin Conerton, Juneau-Douglas.

Skills contests

Speed dribbling - Hiroto Yanigasawa, Juneau-Douglas.

Shooting accuracy - Angelo Ebenal, Wasilla.

Penalty kicker - Matt Fosket, Juneau-Douglas.

Goalie - Nik O'Blenness, Dimond.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us