Incumbents at Goldbelt stay

Shareholders vote to retain three members over seven challengers

Posted: Monday, June 04, 2001

Three incumbents were re-elected to Goldbelt's Board of Directors at the company's annual meeting in Juneau on Saturday.

Shareholders returned Juneau residents Del Cesar, Edith McHenry and Carl C. Nelson to three-year seats on the nine-member board. Nearly 83 percent of Goldbelt's nearly 3,100 voting shareholders participated in the election, according to the company. Goldbelt is Juneau's urban Native corporation.

Nelson has served on the board since 1987 and is a retired data operations manager for the state. He said increasing shareholder hire and turning around Goldbelt's tourism operations are among his goals.

"I'm very hopeful we're going to establish ourselves as small vessel tourism company and be a major player in that area," he said.

Nelson predicted the company will return a profit in the next two to three years.

"It's a slow process," he said.

Cesar has served on Goldbelt's board since 1992 and is the vice president of administration for the Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium. He said he is optimistic the company is moving in the right direction.

"It's my goal to work with management to ensure that investments are performing and work with management to divest ourselves of investments that aren't working," he said.

McHenry is a program support specialist with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's office of general counsel and has been on Goldbelt's board since 1998. She could not be reached for comment by the Empire's midday deadline.

Ten people ran for the three open seats on the board during this year's five-week campaign. Former Goldbelt director Alberta Aspen of Juneau was a close fourth in the race, according to Andrea Cadiente-Laiti, chairwoman of the nominations and elections committee. The other candidates were Tim Ackerman and Bill Tompkins of Juneau, Alice Bugni of Kodiak, Franklin Lee Jimmy of Ketchikan, Glenn D. Johnson of Hoonah and Lino Barril of Kent, Wash.

In a reorganization meeting after the annual meeting, Randy Wanamaker was elected board chairman. Nelson was named vice chairman, McHenry was picked as corporate secretary and Cadiente-Laiti was elected treasurer.

Joanna Markell can be reached at

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us