Thank you

Posted: Friday, June 10, 2005

... for the fun run

Our school held its 13th annual Harborview Fun Run on May 13. There are many folks who made it possible. This is a huge thank you to all the staff members at Harborview who helped: Michele Ricci, Maralee Guiher, Debbie Tillinghast, Darlene Jacobsen, Marti Corcoran, Natalie Rothaus, teachers and staff. They all helped students get to the race, on the race course and playground after the run.

The Harborview PTA led by Marna McGonegal did its usual excellent job serving hot dogs, carrots, pretzels and ice water in the covered play area. Several government agencies were critically important in making this event possible: the Department of Transportation, highway maintenance, led by Earling Olson and permit by Fred Thorstenson; Juneau Parks and Recreation's Crandall Mark for race setup and timing; and the Juneau Police Department for its parade permit and officers on bike and in cars. McDonald's also kindly donated cups, water containers and ice.

Water stations were ably manned by Zeena Siddeek, Rich Culver, Sue Baxter and others. Kathi Yanamura started walkers and racers.

Folks helping with medical stations were Judy Miles, Steve Iha, Michele Ricci and Dawn Pisel-Davis. Many parents also walked or ran along with their children and others to encourage and support them. Thanks to all of you for sparking Harborview's spirit and maintaining our health.

Dave Haas

Harborview Elementary School PE

... for recycling

Friends of Recycling would like to thank the following volunteers and organizations for helping make our May 21 magazine and catalog collection a success. Big thanks go to Mendenhall Auto for the use of their tent and Larry White, Chris Morrow, the Alaska Department of Transportation and Southeast Furniture Warehouse. Further thanks go to KTOO, KJNO, Juneau Empire, Dean Blust, Linda Deakins, Michael Hoskins, Mary Diven, Michael Fleischhauer, Erica Quintana, Joey Bosworth, Julianna Singh, Martha Murray, Lise Paradis, Pat Harris, John Staub, Stephanie Hoag, Mary Pat Schilly and family, Brady and Cindy Scott, Vaughn Wescott, Claire Fordyce, Janet Capito, Odette Foster, Doug Edgar, Rosemary Slotnick, Laisne Waldron, Nancy Waterman, Margot Knuth, and Marsha Buck.

Magazine and Catalog recycling will be held again on July 23 and Aug. 27. We will accept phone books on Aug. 27. Thanks again to all who participated and brought us piles of glossy papers.

Terry Tavel

Friends of Recycling

...for supporting trees in the community

Members of the Juneau Urban Forestry Partnership would like to thank the following agencies, businesses and individuals for helping us plant trees and hold other activities during Alaska's Arbor Month: The Alaska Division of Forestry, CBJ, Capital Copy, Jeff Barnard, Rai Behnert, Elizabeth Bochynski, Mayor Bruce Botelho, Ed Buyarski, Erin Evans, Bob Grochow, Terry Hinkley, Chris Mertl, Ben Patterson, Carol Race and the staff at the Douglas Public Library, Carol Skafturon, Curt Terrell, Emilie Valentine and Priscilla Valentine. Thank you to all.

Sondra Stanway

Juneau Urban Forestry Partnership

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us