Sealaska board members re-elected

Posted: Tuesday, June 21, 2005

Shareholders of Sealaska Corp. chose to re-elect members of the board of directors at the company's annual meeting in Ketchikan on Saturday.

Sixty-eight percent of the shareholders of the Native corporation voted on four out of 13 board seats, which have staggered terms.

Re-elected to the board were Sidney Edenshaw, Byron Mallott, Edward Thomas and Rosita Worl for three-year terms. The four were endorsed by Sealaska; the three independent candidates were not elected.

Some 250 shareholders were present while others watched via Web cast and voted by proxy.

The meeting also focused on the company's 2004 annual report, as no resolutions were introduced.

Sealaska made $16 million of net income on $152 million in revenues for fiscal year 2004. A statement released by the company said primary contributors to the corporation's profits were investments in the financial markets, plastics and manufacturing subsidiaries and income from natural resources, primarily timber.

The Sealaska board held a reorganizational meeting immediately following the annual meeting and renamed Albert Kookesh chairman, Rosita Worl vice chairwoman and re-elected McNeil as the corporation's president and chief executive officers; Rick Harris Executive as vice president; William Strafford as executive vice president and chief financial officer; Patrick Duke as treasurer and corporate investment officer; and Nicole Hallingstad as vice president and corporate secretary.

• Andrew Petty can be reached at

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us