Posted: Wednesday, June 21, 2006

Laraine Derr and Charlotte Richards of Juneau were awarded the First Lady's Volunteer Award at a luncheon on April 24 in Anchorage.

Sound off on the important issues at

Derr has served as presidential appointee to the Whitehorse Conference on Indian Education and as a member of the Alaska 2000 Committee. She has chaired the Alaska Division of the American Cancer Society, the Sitka School Board, and Big Brothers Big Sisters. For the past 15 years, she has devoted many hours to sewing for Juneau-Douglas High School's annual spring musical. The self-taught seamstress designs and sews the costumes, working with the students right up to show time.

Richards designs elaborate theater sets, decorates the Governor's Mansion for Christmas and helps kidney dialysis patients. She is executive director for the Bartlett Regional Hospital Foundation. She has spent countless hours hosting receptions, staffing fundraising and education booths, and speaking out on behalf of health issues and health advocacy.


Big Brothers Big Sisters of Southeast Alaska has been selected as one of the top three Big Brothers Big Sisters agencies in the nation in its size category this year. Southeast Alaska Executive Director Marc Wheeler was also named a finalist for CEO of the Year.

The winners for mid-sized Agency of the Year and CEO of the Year will be announced on June 29 at the Big Brothers Big Sisters of America National Conference in Indianapolis.


Kids borrowing items from the Juneau Public Libraries this summer can enter a contest and be rewarded by local businesses. Each Tuesday, a drawing is held, and prizes are given. This week, the winners are: Heather Meade, who won a gift certificate to Del Sol; Lauren Pratt, who won a gift certificate to Domino's Pizza; Colin Zheng, who won a gift certificate to Alaska Fudge Company; and Talitha Wilson, who won a gift certificate to the Amazing Book store.


Adam Lee Nelson, of Juneau, made the 2006 spring semester dean's list at the University of Montana in Missoula. To place, a student must earn at least a 3.5 grade-point average and receive grades of A or B in at least nine credits.


Kaitlyn Shaw, of Juneau, was named to the 2006 spring semester dean's list at Randolph-Macon Woman's College in Lynchburg, Va. The dean's list recognizes those who have achieved superior quality in their academic work.


Annie Mae Fox and Ryan Christopher Monagle, of Juneau, each earned a Bachelor of Science in exercise science at Linfield College's spring commencement May 28 in McMinnville, Ore.


Sophia Polasky, daughter of Jackie and Tim Polasky of Juneau, was named to the dean's list for the 2006 spring semester at the College of Saint Benedict/Saint John's University in St. Joseph, Minn. Polasky is a senior environmental studies major.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us