Quinto leads Excalibur to Rainball title

Posted: Monday, June 25, 2001

To view the correction for this story, click here.

Randy Quinto was named the Men's Division I tournament MVP after leading Excalibur to 23-14 victory over Taku Oil in Sunday's division championship game of the Juneau Softball Association/Travelodge 2001 Rainball Invitational Softball Tournament at Dimond Park.

There were no repeat champions in the three-day tournament, which had three men's divisions and two women's divisions. The other champions were Harri Plumbing in Men's Division II, Pinheads in Men's Division III, Rain Dogs in Women's Division I and Merchant's Wharf in Women's Division II.

Taku Oil was the Men's Division I defending tournament champion. Taku reached the championship game after edging Allen Marine of Sitka 18-14 in the losers' bracket. House of Liquor from Sitka took fourth place in the division.

Quinto was joined on the division all-tournament team by teammates Ronny Mueller, Paul DiCarlo, Randy Bates and Phil Isaak. Also on the all-tourney squad were Fred Tolbert, Mark Heard and Carl Casperson of Taku Oil; Dave Allen and Bob Calhoun of Allen Marine; and Spencer Overturf of House of Liquor.

In Men's Division II, Brad Waldron was named division MVP after Harri Plumbing claimed a 27-7 victory over Copy Express after being forced into an if-necessary game. Copy Express, which lost to Harri Plumbing earlier in the tournament, forced the if-necessary game with a 26-16 victory in the championship game. Godfather's Pizza of Ketchikan took third place and Canton House was fourth.

Joining Waldron on the division all-tourney team were Harri Plumbing teammates Jerry Melton, Dennis Powers, John Prather and Delton Cummins; the Copy Express trio of Christopher Umbs, Scott Guenther and Eric Beechum; Steve Hudson and Joe Hendricks of Godfather's Pizza; and Ty Thomson of Canton House.

In Men's Division III, Tim Furgione was named the division MVP after leading the Pinheads to a 22-7 victory over Juneau Merchants. SERRC took third place and JD Services was fourth.

Furgione was joined on the division all-tourney team by teammates Scott Wellard, Scott Wilwert, Mike Heard and Mike Mauseth; the Juneau Merchants trio of Keaton Gaines, Jeffrey Johns and Tony Stonich; Craig Knouff and Dave Goade of SERRC; and Spencer Storie of JD Services.

In Women's Division I, Kacy Davidson earned division MVP honors after leading the Rain Dogs to a 10-6 victory over defending champion Louie's. Lynden Transport took third place and Ernie's of Sitka finished fourth.

Debbie Derr, Dusty Price, Staci Augustus and Mary Tagaban joined their Rain Dogs teammate Davidson on the division all-tourney team; with Hazel Reynolds, Dee Swavely and Sue McGowan of Louie's also making the squad; Michelle Ramsdell and Lana Larson of Lynden Transport; and Elmanda Miller of Ernie's.

In Women's Division II, Elaine Bell was named division MVP after leading Merchant's Wharf to a 12-3 victory over Legion of Sitka. Island Bus of Sitka took third place and Auke Bay/Travelodge was fourth.

Joining Bell on the division all-tourney team were Merchant's Wharf teammates Jan Cummins, Carol Gamez, Teresa Luerra and Dody Miyasato; Amy Danielson, Karen Hahn and Heather Magee of Legion; Jesse Piazza and Kaili Jackson of Island Bus; and Mary Miller of Auke Bay/Travelodge.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us