Dozens of winners at 12th Gold Rush Days

Posted: Tuesday, July 03, 2001

Below are the winners of competitive events at the 12th Annual Gold Rush Days, held last weekend at Dimond Park.

All Around Resource: Erik Sommers; All Around Male Miner: Dan Clark; All Around Female Miner: Mary Hertz-Ake; Bull of the Woods: Cal Richert; Babe of the Woods: Megan Mattox, Mary Hertz-Ake (tie).

Men's Team Hand Bucking: 1. Cal Richert, Ed Smith; 2. Joel Stephansky, John Stephansky; 3. Jim Smith, Tom Thompson.

Women's Team Hand Bucking: 1. Megan Mattox, Alea Oien; 2. Mindy Stephansky, Joan O'Keefe; 3. Nikki Richert, Tobie Putman.

Men's Stock Power Saw Bucking: 1. John Stephansky; 2. W.R. Tonsgard; 3. Cal Richert.

Women's Stock Power Saw Bucking: 1. Joan O'Keefe; 2. Megan Mattox; 3. Sonie Blackwell

Horizontal Chopping: 1. John Stephansky; 2. Joel Stephansky; 3. Terry Selby.

Jack & Jill Team Hand Bucking: 1. Cal Richert, Nikki Richert; 2. Joel Stephansky, Mindy Stephansky; 3. Tom Thompson, Joan O'Keefe.

Men's Choker Setter Relay Race: 1. Joel Stephansky, John Stephansky; 2. Cal Richert, Ed Smith; 3. Dan Clark, Erik Sommers.

Women's Choker Setter Race: 1. Mary Hertz-Ake; 2. Tobie Putman; 3. Sonie Blackwell.

Men's Axe Throwing: 1. Joel Stephansky; 2. Terry Selby; 3. Erik Sommers.

Women's Axe Throwing: 1. Mindy Stephansky; 2. Alea Oien; 3. Janet Selby.

Women's Single Hand Bucking: 1. Mary Hertz-Ake; 2. Sonie Blackwell; 3. Megan Mattox.

Men's Single Hand Bucking: 1. Cal Richert; 2. Joel Stephansky; 3. Ed Smith.

Women's Speed Climbing: 1. Megan Mattox; 2. Mary Hertz-Ake; 3. Sonie Blackwell.

Men's Speed Climbing: 1. Ed Smith; 2. Cal Richert; 3. Joel Stephansky.

Tree Topping: 1. Ed Smith; 2. Cal Richert; 3. Joel Stephansky.

Women's Log Rolling: 1. Mary Hertz-Ake; 2. Megan Mattox; 3. Nikki Richert.

Men's Log Rolling: 1. Cal Richert; 2. Terry Selby; 3. Joel Stephansky.

Jackleg Drilling: 1. Kirk Ziegenfuss; 2. Tom Thompson; 3. Albert Morrison.

12B Overshot Mucking: 1. Jim Smith; 2. Dan Clark; 3. Kirk Ziegenfuss.

Women's Hand Mucking: 1. Mary Hertz-Ake; 2. Alea Oien; 3. Kelley Kalafitich.

Men's Hand Mucking: 1. Erik Sommers; 2. Major Brist; 3. Jim Smith.

Men's Spike Driving: 1. Dan Clark; 2. Tom Thompson; 3. Erik Sommers.

Women's Spike Driving: 1. Mary Hertz-Ake; 2. Alea Oien; 3. Sonie Blackwell.

Team Drilling: 1. Jim Smith, Tom Thompson; 2. Jim Newton, Kirk Ziegenfuss; 3. Michael Martin, Albert Morrison.

Horseshoe Doubles: 1. Gale Good, Kim Custer; 2. Betty Lindquist, Ann Pittman.

Horseshoe Singles: 1. Brad Mayhew; 2. Kim Custer.

Gold Panning-Sourdough Division: 1. Hank Masters; 2. Callie Blissebach; 3. Eric Kellogg.

Gold Panning-Junior Division: 1. Shea Wilcox; 2. Brittany Endicott; 3. Kayla Bishop.

Saturday Children's Hand Mucking: 1. Zachery Starbard; 2. Mattheus Tempel; 3. Arianne Sims.

Sunday Children's Hand Mucking: 1. Zachery Starbard; 2. Casey Nelson; 3. Allen Tobiska.

Saturday Children's Choker Setter Race: 1. Mattheus Tempel; 2. Arianne Sims; 3. Zachery Starbard.

Sunday Children's Choker Setter Race: 1. Zachery Starbard; 2. Casey Nelson; 3. Richard Gonzales.

Page not found | Juneau Empire - Alaska's Capital City Online Newspaper

Page not found

We're sorry, but the page you were seeking does not exist. It may have been moved or expired.  Perhaps our search engine can help. 



  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback