Local Briefs

Posted: Friday, July 06, 2001

Airline adds Juneau-Seattle flight

Alaska Airlines has added another flight to its routes between Juneau, Sitka and Seattle.

Flight 59, a Boeing 737-400, leaves Seattle at 12:52 p.m. daily and arrives in Juneau at 2:17 p.m. It leaves for Sitka 40 minutes later, then returns to Seattle. The new flight, which can carry 138 people, began Sunday and will run through Sept. 8.

"We have added the flight to accommodate the ever-increasing summer traffic to Southeast Alaska," said Gregg Saretsky, the airline's vice president of marketing.

Douglas parade winners announced

The following are winners of the Douglas Fourth of July Parade:

Most Original, Special Olympics; Best Marching Band, Juneau Volunteer Marching Band; Best Commercial, Alaska Litho; Most Colorful, My Back Yard; Most Musical, Stroller White; Most Wet, Boy Scout Troop No. 10; Best Outdoors, Outdoor Recreational Command Access; Most Patriotic, Shriners; Most International, Olympic Torch Run. Winners of the Douglas children's parade are listed in the Empire Neighbors Page today on Page 13.

City presents historic preservation awards

Juneau Mayor Sally Smith presented awards this week to projects that have made significant contributions to historic preservation in the Juneau area.

To receive a historic preservation award, a building, site or structure must be at least 50 years old and the project must have taken place within the past three years. The Juneau Historic Resources Advisory Committee presented awards to:

The Kaher House IV, 423 Seward St., Tom and Carrie Dragt and Chilkat Custom Construction, honorable mention for a private residence.

The Olds House, 113 W. Fifth St., Linda Wendeborn and Mark Thorson, award of excellence for a private residence.

The Helps/Taylor House, 965 Goldbelt Ave., Tessa Muehllehner and John Day, award of excellence for a private residence.

The MacKinnon Apartment building, Nicole Hartman and Scott Clark for MacKinnon Apartment Limited Partnership, award of excellence for a commercial building.

The Governor's House garden, Christopher Mertl for Jensen Yorba Lott, Inc. in coordination with First Lady Susan Knowles, award of excellence for a historic site.

The Alaska Juneau Gold Mine Compressor Building and Transformer House, Frank Kriletich for the volunteers of the Gastineau Channel Historical Society, award of excellence for a public building.

Additional information about historic preservation in Juneau is available at www.juneau.org/history.

Douglas parade winners

The following are the winners of the 2001 Douglas Fourth of July Children's Parade:

Best decorated wagon: Kisa and Kelsey Gastelum.

Best decorated bicycle - girls: Lenka Craigova.

Best decorated bicycle - boys: Matthew Campbell.

Best decorated bicycle with training wheels - girls: Kylie Waggoner.

Best decorated bicycle with training wheels - boys: Gabe Regis.

Best decorated scooter - girls: Patricia Adams.

Best decorated scooter - boys: Trevor Dubois.

Best decorated motorcycle: Oscar Jones and Michael Kahklen.

Funniest costume: Shannon Smith "Running Late."

Best character costume - girls: Kai Christian "Xtra Tuff Gypsy Cat."

Best character costume - boys: Matt Siau "Davey Crockett."

Most patriotic costume: Jane Longenbaugh Sherwood "American Flag."

Best duo patriotic costumes: Saara and Rachel. (No last names given.)

Best group costume: Max Rosen, Robert, Emily and Sarah Baumgartner with dogs.

Task force focuses on luring younger voters

Community leaders, educators and business people are among the 14 Alaskans who have been named to a civics task force by Lt. Governor Fran Ulmer. The task force will help guide The Alaska Democracy Project (ADP), an effort to renew interest in civics.

"Last year's Let's Vote! Alaska project successfully helped to increase the 18-24 year-old voter turnout by 48-percent," Ulmer said.

Members include educators Alma Elia (St. Mary's), Mary Bristol (Anchorage School District), Grant Kashatok (Kipnik) and Letitia Fickel (UAA); student Rae Fancher (Bethel); and business and civic leaders Jo Michalski (Anchorage businesswoman), Sammy Crawford (League of Women Voters of Alaska), David Baranow (Alaska Bar Association), George Irvin (First Alaska Foundation), Carl Rose (Association of Alaska School Boards), Steve Lindbeck (Editor, Anchorage Daily News), Michael Jackson (Kake magistrate), Ken MacGregor (Parent Teacher Association) and Betty Walters (Alaska Council of School Administrators).

The first meeting of the ADP Task Force will be Tuesday via teleconference. Other activities include an online civics education survey posted at www.gov. state.ak.us/ltgov.

Garden club hosting statewide convention

The Juneau Garden Club is hosting the Alaska State Federation of Garden Clubs 42nd annual convention Aug. 2-5. The deadline for registration is Tuesday.

The convention features Dan Hinkley, an author who has scouted locations from Turkey to Chile for new varieties of plants. Also, master gardener Marion Owen, co-author of "Chicken Soup for the Gardener's Soul," will speak at a banquet.

The cost is $30 for dinner and a ride to the top of the Mount Roberts Tram, where Hinkley will speak Aug. 3. The Aug. 4 banquet at Glacier Gardens Rainforest Adventures is $30.

For more information call 789-4739, 790-2156 or e-mail vivianm@gci.net.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us