Thank you

Posted: Wednesday, July 07, 2004

... for the fund raiser

The Glory Hole would like to thank our kind neighbors in the Federal Flats area. Their recent "Take What You Need, Pay What You Can" neighborhood garage sale raised almost $1000 to benefit The Glory Hole. Special thanks go to Terri and Jeff Campbell; Janelle, Tesia, Erin and Chris Meade; Rob, Leo and Ruby Steedle; Colleen Goldrich; Eric Norburg; Tom Cosgrove; and Sharon Baker, for offering their heavy lifting and organizational skills.

Jetta Whittaker, Executive Director

... for aiding health fair

To each and every person who supports Alaska Health Fair Inc., thank you! Our nonprofit organization was able to visit more than 170 sites in Alaska this year, providing valuable free health education, low-cost as well as no-cost medical screenings to tens of thousands of participants statewide.

The Juneau Public Health Fair is one of the largest events, requiring more than 250 local volunteers to coordinate and execute. I would like to thank each and every one of you personally for doing such an amazing job and for providing Juneau with this incredible opportunity. Space precludes me from doing so, but please know that you have given your friends, neighbors and community a wonderful gift, which may even save someone's life!

The Juneau Empire must be recognized, foremost for getting the word out and letting our Juneau community know about this opportunity.

Each year our Public Health Nursing Staff comes out in full force to staff the event as do other state employees from the Department of Health and Social Services. People such as Lance Brown and Patty Owen have shown that together we can accomplish what no one person could ever accomplish alone.

Local businesses such as Breeze-In, Heritage Coffee, Costco, Subway, A & P, Safeway, McDonalds and Super Bear continue year after year to donate food for the volunteer staff, who are often too busy to leave the building.

Thank you, planning committee; volunteers; Joy Bakker; Marie Toland; Neil Atkinson; Rosemary Matt; the Mendenhall Flying Lions; Pona Samuel and her team; Laura Stats; John Ray; Denise Heiman; Bartlett Hospital; SEARHC, Juneau Medical Center; Eva Small; Marie Collins; Suzanne Gemmell; the Juneau Fire and Rescue Squad members; Airlift Northwest; Lisa Nicklow; the Juneau Dietitians; Sonja Engle; Justine Muench; Sally Urvina; Sandy Landis; Angela Johnson; Stacey and Joe Anderson; Dr. Caroline and Dr. George Brown; Dr. Thomas; Juneau Youth Services; Margaret Walmer, Chris Urata and the student nurses of UAS; Curves Gym; Seon Chun; Bartlett Hospital Foundation; Dr. Michael Bennett; Nancy Davis; Kathy Miller; Kate Slotnick; and Commissioner Gilbertson. This event would not have been possible without this planning team and hundreds of others.

Valerie O'Hare, Southeast program director

Alaska Health Fair Inc.

... from the symphony

The Juneau Symphony finished its 2003-04 season with a sensational Summer Pops concert on June 12, and we would like to thank everyone who helped make it such a success.

First, we thank Alaska Communications Systems for its sponsorship of the program. Without ACS's generosity, we simply could not present this additional concert to the community of Juneau. We also thank Ron Maas and the Thunder Mountain Big Band for adding their wonderful swing dance music to the evening. Thanks to Lucas Hoiland and his capable stage crew; to Roald Simonson and the Celebrating Wilderness Committee for their work on the wilderness photo project; to all the volunteer ticket takers, ushers and program distributors; to Gordon Harrison for the new and beautiful conductor podium; and to all the symphony supporters who opened their homes for our out-of-town musicians.

Finally, we want to thank the board of directors of the Juneau Symphony. These people form an incredible board that manages to have fun while getting the work done. The Juneau Symphony wouldn't be what it is today without the efforts of Mary Borthwick, Rob Bosworth, Susan Burke, Denny Bschor, John DeCherney, Mary Ann Dlugosch, Charity Green, Bob King, Judy Knight, Lucy Merrell, Rich Ritter, Amy Skilbred, Floyd Spinner, Greg Williams, and Barbara Wilmot.

We have an exciting season planned for next year. So, look for our 2004-05 season brochure in August.

See you at the Symphony!

Kyle Wiley Pickett, artistic director, Elizabeth Agnew, executive director, and all the musicians of the Juneau Symphony

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us