Neighbors mailbox

Posted: Wednesday, July 12, 2006

Thank you for helping with this year's Celebration

Sound off on the important issues at

Sealaska Heritage Institute would like to thank the many volunteers, moderators, family, friends and others who helped with Celebration 2006. A special thank-you goes to the local businesses and organizations that granted administrative leave to their employees for Celebration volunteer shifts. This biennial Native festival would not be possible without the hundreds of volunteers who donate their time. We salute their dedication and generosity of spirit - Celebration could not happen without them.

Celebration also would not be possible without our corporate and individual sponsors. Many thanks to Sealaska Corp., Carolyn M. Kleefeld, the city of Juneau, ConocoPhillips Alaska, Holland America Line Inc., Juneau Convention and Visitors Bureau, Royal Caribbean Cruises, University of Alaska Southeast, Wells Fargo, Pyramid Communications, Elgee Rehfeld Mertz LLC, Kennedy Associates Real Estate Counsel, Alaska Pacific Bank, SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium, Driftwood Lodge, Tlingit & Haida Regional Housing Authority, the Worl family, Byron and Tony Mallott, Jacqueline Johnson, Patrick M. Anderson, Sidney C. Edenshaw, Clarence M. Jackson Sr., Albert Kookesh, Deborah and Tate London, Jodie Mitchell, Joe Nelson, Ethel Lund, Ed Thomas, Marjorie V. Young and the McDowell Group. Thanks also to the many people who gave memorial donations. The following businesses supported the canoeing events: Sealaska Corp., Goldbelt, Rainbow Foods, Nugget Alaskan Outfitter, Gross Alaska Theatres, Foggy Mountain Shop and Fred Meyer.

In addition, we thank the following people and organizations for their contributions: Bill Holm; Aldona Jonaitis; Preston Singletary; Robin Wright; Thomas Thornton; Steve Henrikson; George Ramos, Douglas Chilton, Mount Roberts Tramway; Alaska Airlines; the Alaska Marine Highway System; Juried Art Show participants; Native art vendors; black seaweed contestants and judges; Native language workshop presenters and participants; baby regalia review participants; Celebration 2006 dance groups and guests; personnel at Centennial Hall, Alaska Native Brotherhood Hall, Central Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska offices and the National Guard Armoryl; and KTOO-TV, the Juneau Empire and other media.

Special thanks to the Juneau Convention and Visitors Bureau, the Downtown Business Association and the Juneau Chamber of Commerce for their extra efforts to welcome Celebration participants to the capital city. Thanks for helping to make Celebration 2006 the best Celebration ever.

Rosita Worl, Sealaska Heritage Institute


Thank you, Douglas, for your patriotic decorations

The Douglas 4th of July Committee thanks all Douglas residents, organizations and businesses for flying its country's flag on June 14. A special thank-you to residents who went further in decorating their buildings with flags and patriotic-colored decorations. Please leave them up through July 4th to help make a super holiday in Douglas.

Flag Day was officially established by the proclamation of President Woodrow Wilson on May 30, 1916. It was not until Aug. 3, 1949, that President Truman signed an Act of Congress designating June 14 of each year as National Flag Day.

The Douglas Volunteer Fire Fighters judged properties early Wednesday evening. Come view owners' decorations. Let them know we appreciate their efforts.

Winners in the business category were Douglas Depot, first place; Pat's Douglas Inn, second place; and Island Pub, third place. The winner in the nonprofit category was Douglas Methodist Church, first place. The winner in the apartment category was Four Plex, first place. The winner in the condo category was 2167 Crow Hill, first place. Winners in the house category were Teri and Rick Lewis, first place; Eileen and Barry Bengenyi, second place; Mary and Gunnar Noreen, third place; Jan Gonce, honorable mention; Joy Baker, honorable mention; and Sharon and Jim Estes, honorable mention.

Susanne Williams, Douglas 4th of July Committee


Thank you for attending Juneau Symphony's concert

The Juneau Symphony musicians and board would like to thank everyone who attended our summer concert on June 17 and 18. Thank you, Alexander Tutunov, for a wonderful performance. You truly inspire us all.

We are indebted to Allen Marine, for sponsoring the guest soloist. We also thank Community Schools and Juneau-Douglas High School auditorium manager Lucas Hoiland; Hearthside Books, for selling tickets; and KTOO, for broadcasting Sunday's concert live.

Additional thanks are due to house managers Larry White and Koren Bosworth and the large corps of dedicated Symphony volunteers; Tuula Marquardt and family, for the wonderful reception; and all the Symphony supporters, who opened their homes for our out-of-town musicians.

Thank you to everyone, who helped make this concert such a success.

Kyle Wiley Pickett, music director

Elizabeth Agnew, executive director

Juneau Symphony

Thank you for supporting the Urban Forestry Partnership

The Juneau Urban Forestry Partnership has accomplished a lot this spring. We planted cherry trees along Calhoun in April and just recently celebrated Arbor Day by planting a tree at Joe Juneau's grave in the Evergreen Cemetery. We offered a tree/pioneer grave walk with the help of volunteers from the Juneau-Douglas Museum and have produced two publications - Downtown Juneau Tree Guide and a pamphlet, Juneau Tree Walk - available to the community. In addition, Juneau received Tree City USA status this year for the third time.

We want to extend a big thank-you to the following, who gave their time and support along the way: Patricia Joyner and the Alaska Division of Forestry, Kathy Newman and Holland-America, KTOO, Capital Copy, Jill Herrick of the Southeast Alaska Building Industry Alliance, for help at the Home Show, Mayor Botelho, Gladi Kulp, Marc Matsil, Terry Hinkley and crew, Mike Scott, Bob Grochow, Michael Penn and Suzy Lafferty from the Juneau Empire, Juneau-Douglas City Museum volunteers Marie Darlin and Mike Grummett, regular JUFP volunteers Elizabeth Bochynski, Joyce James, and Mark Millea. Thank you so much to everyone for helping beautify Juneau.

Sondra Stanway and the Juneau Urban Forestry Partnership Board


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us