Consortium seeks 'Just Move It' community partners

Posted: Sunday, July 12, 2009

SITKA - The SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium Health Promotion, Diabetes and Lifestyle Balance programs is looking for community partners for "Just Move It" activities on Saturday, Oct. 10, in several communities throughout the region.

A variety of community activities will take place in Haines/Klukwan, Juneau, Angoon, Kake, Sitka, Hydaburg and Klawock/Craig/Prince of Wales Island, and they are part of the national "Just Move It" campaign to promote healthy physical activity for American Indians and Alaska Natives. By hosting the events on Oct. 10, the activities will tie in with the Alaska Native Brotherhood/Alaska Native Sisterhood Grand Camp meetings taking place that week in Juneau. Most of the community activities on Oct. 10 will be walking events.

The Just Move It activities also serve as an early preview of American Diabetes Month in November, which brings awareness to a disease having a growing impact on Alaska Natives and American Indians. Alaska Natives and American Indians have some of the highest rates of diabetes for any ethnic group in the United States, and recent research shows that more than half of the cases of Type 2 diabetes can be prevented through increased physical activity and healthy eating habits.

"Many of my friends and family, like other First Nations people, have struggled with diabetes," said Renae Mathson, a SEARHC Diabetes Health Educator. "We now know Type 2 diabetes can be controlled by lifestyle choices and physical activity can help reduce a person's risk for diabetes. We have chosen to participate in the 'Just Move It' national campaign to get 1 million American Indian and Alaska Natives physically active. We are hosting our events as a preview to American Diabetes Month so we can bring awareness to the fact that 30 minutes of fun, physical activity each day helps reduce the risk of many chronic diseases, including diabetes."

The local event coordinators for community partners to contact are:

Angoon - Doreen McCluskey at 907-788-4637 or doreen.mccluskey@searhc.org.

Haines/Klukwan - Mandy Ramsey at 907-766-6317 or mandy.ramsey@searhc.org.

Hydaburg - Tony Stevens at 907-285-3462 or tony.stevens@searhc.org.

Juneau - Rocky Plotnick at 364-4452 or rocky.plotnick@searhc.org.

Kake - Georgie Reese at 907-785-3260 or georgie.reese@searhc.org.

Klawock/Craig/POW - June May at 907-755-4959 or june.may@searhc.org.

Sitka - Renae Mathson at 907-966-8797 or renae.mathson@searhc.org, or Erin Rofkar at 966-8799 or erin.rofkar@searhc.org.



CONTACT US

  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-3028
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback

ADVERTISING

SUBSCRIBER SERVICES

SOCIAL NETWORKING