Posted: Friday, July 20, 2007

Dean Goroski, the clinical pharmacist at the SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium Haines Health Center, received two awards from the U.S. Public Health Service.

Sound off on the important issues at

Goroski, a lieutenant commander in the U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps, was honored with a U.S. Public Health Service Commendation Medal for work he did at the Alaska Native Medical Center before he arrived at the SEARHC Haines Health Center in October. He also became certified by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialities as a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist (BCPS) after passing the required exam earlier this year.

To earn the Commendation Medal, Goroski developed and managed a home infusion pharmacy service at Alaska Native Medical Center, so patient needs could be met in a more comfortable home environment. Not only were patients able to be treated at home, but the program helped ANMC free up hospital beds for other patients, saving 1,800 inpatient days and more than $1 million in costs during the first year of the program. Goroski also was honored for running the ANMC pharmacy's sterile products compounding quality assurance program and he worked on a program for the prevention of respiratory syncycial virus disease in children.


Logan R. Spencer, of Juneau, earned high honors for the spring term at Phillips Exeter Academy, an independent school in Exeter, N.H. The son of Carola Thompson and Larry Spencer, he is in his third year.


Aksel Arnesen, of Juneau; Kalen WIlliams, Zachariah Drllevich, Brenna McMohan, of Petersburg; Jennifer Newell and Tracy Anderson, of Ketchikan; and Cathlynn Greene and Lindsey Vilandre, of Sitka, made the dean's list for the spring semester 2007 at Eastern Washington University in Cheney, Wash.


Kids borrowing items from the Juneau Public Libraries this summer may enter a drawing and be rewarded by local businesses. Each Thursday a drawing will be held from the names of kids who have participated. Prizes will be given each week.

The winners and prizes awarded on July 12 were: Toby Minick, a gift certificate to the Amazing Bookstore; Kekoa Winn, a Dominos Pizza gift certificate; Naara Conlon, a gift certificate from the Alaskan Fudge Company; Cedar Miles, two passes to the Gross-Alaska Theatre; Summer Walker, two passes from Mount Roberts Tramway and Goldbelt; and Leo Steele, an adventure tour for two fon the glacier from Temsco Helicopter Tours.

The winners and prizes awarded Thursday were: James Connally, a gift certificate from the Amazing Bookstore in the Airport Mall; Rachael Lousie Katzeek, a gift certificate from Domino's Pizza in the Mendenhall Valley; Eva Lie-Nielson, a gift certificate from Peer Amid Beads; Adrianna D'Cafango, two passes from Mount Robert's Tramway; and Savanna Cayce, a gift certificate from Nugget Alaskan Outfitters.


Melissa Lynn Passer, of Juneau, graduated with honors from Montana State University, in Bozeman, on May 11.


In the 2007 spring commencement, Sarah Ennis Lende, of Haines, earned her Bachelor of Arts in social sciences, and Chelsea Erin Farrington, of Juneau, earned her Bachelor of Science in biology from Washington State University in Pullman, Wash.


Elizabeth Stickel, of Juneau, recieved a $1,500 scholarship from the Military Children Program, awarded at Elmendorf Air Force Base. Stickel is the daughter of Jack and Lorraine Stickel. She plans to enroll at the University of Alaska Southeast. Her school and community activities include National Honor Society, UAK scholar, 4-H Fair participant, Sound of America Honor Band and Digital Photography Club.

Applicants for the 2007 program were required to maintain a minimum 3.0 grade-point average, participate in voluntary school and community activities, demonstrate leadership qualities and write an essay answering the question, "If you had the power to change the outcome of any event in history, what would you change and why?"


SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium Diabetes Educator Colleen McNulty has earned a Certified Diabetes Educator credential from the National Certification Board for Diabetes Educators.

Candidates must meet rigorous credential and professional practice experience requirements to be eligible for the certification, which allows educators to use the CDE credential after their names. Achieving the CDE credential demonstrates to people with diabetes and employers that the health care professional possesses distinct and specialized knowledge, thereby promoting quality of care for people with diabetes, the NCBDE said.

Certified Diabetes Educators are health care professionals from a variety of specialties who teach people with diabetes how to manage their disease. To earn the CDE credential, the health care professional must currently be employed in the field of diabetes self-management education and have a minimum of two years and 1,000 hours of work experience in the field before taking the credentialing examination. The CDE credential is valid for five years before it needs to be renewed.

McNulty is a registered nurse who earned a Bachelor of Science, Nursing degree in 1987 from the University of Alaska Anchorage. She started working part-time with SEARHC in 1998 as an intermittent nurse on weekends and in 2004 she accepted the full-time position as Diabetes Educator with the SEARHC Juneau Medical Center. She also spent nine years as a public health nurse with the State of Alaska.


Robyn Jennifer Grayson, a junior studying for her Bachelor of Science in biology, received a scholarship from the University of Kansas College of Liberal Arts and Sciences in Lawrence, Kan. She is the daughter of Rich and Mary Grayson and Juneau-Douglas High School graduate. A reception to honor the recipients is planned for Sept. 27.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us