Graduations, honor rolls and awards

Posted: Wednesday, July 26, 2000

Catherina Baxter of Juneau graduated cum laude with highest departmental honors from Middlebury College in Middlebury, Vt. During her studies, she spent one year at Columbia University, New York/Paris, and one semester at Harvard in Cambridge, Mass.

Sarah Fischer of Juneau graduated from Rowland Hall-St. Mark's School in Salt Lake City, Utah. Fischer was awarded the Senior Rowmark Award at graduation.

Rose Koch of Juneau graduated magna cum laude with a bachelor of arts in music and mathematics from Carleton College in Northfield, Minn., last month.

Rachel Steininger of Juneau graduated with a bachelor's degree in business from the University of Notre Dame in Notre Dame, Ind. Steininger was also named to the dean's list for the spring semester.

Jennifer Thompson of Juneau graduated with a Master of Theological Studies degree from Harvard Divinity School in Cambridge, Mass., last month.

Two Juneau residents graduated from Western Washington University in Bellingham, Wash., last month. Sara Eliason graduated with a bachelor of arts degree in education and Kai Morrison graduated with a bachelor of science degree in theater arts.

Five Southeast students recently completed the Rural Alaska Honors Institute's 18th annual summer academic program. Mary Bryant and A. Lee Bryant of Haines, Walter Kookesh of Angoon, John O'Neil of Hydaburg and Brenda White of Metlakatla graduated on July 7 in a ceremony held at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

The University of Alaska Southeast Master of Arts in Teaching commencement was held on July 1. Master of Teaching Elementary Education graduates were: Sheila Box, Richard Capitan, Frank Hendrickson, Laurel Hilts, Peggy Loughrey, Kimberly Jo McCabe, Rachel Myron, Jeremy Neldon, William Olmstead, Anne Mary Pippin, Anne Post, Sarah Warner, Noele McCuistion-Wemes and Michael Wittig. Master of Teaching Secondary Education graduates were: Heidi Ahlgren, Sarah Campbell, Collauna Dick, Sarah Ferrency, Lani Hotch, Steven Lewis, Casey Meyers, Michael Scarbo, Thomas Thompson and Ross Tuxhorn.

Erika Carls of Juneau was named to the dean's list at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minn., for the spring semester.

Jacob Cook of Juneau was named to the dean's list at University of Notre Dame in Notre Dame, Ind., for the spring semester.

Molly Donaldson of Juneau was named to the dean's list at Loyola University New Orleans in New Orleans, La., for the spring semester.

Anne Lefton of Homer was named to the dean's list at Scripps College in Claremont, Calif., for the spring semester.

April Smiley of Juneau was named to the dean's list at The University of Findlay in Findlay, Ohio, for the spring semester.

Jesse Winnen of Juneau was named to the honor roll at Linn-Benton Community College in Albany, Ore., for the spring term.

Four Juneau residents were named to the honor roll at Oregon State University in Corvallis, Ore. Senior Alicia Kelly earned a straight-A average. Senior Kerry Fujioka and juniors Tara Harben and Angie Wright earned a 3.5 or better.

Two Juneau residents were named to the dean's list at Syracuse University in Syracuse, N.Y., for the spring semester. Rachel Kirchhoff is attending the L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science. Erin Williams is attending the College of Visual and Performing Arts.

Ashley Badger of Juneau was awarded the Soroptimist's of Juneau's $500 Youth Opportunity Award for 2000. Badger will attend UC-Davis next fall.

John Blasco of Juneau was awarded a Faculty Scholarship for the 2000-2001 term at Linfield College in McMinnville, Ore.

Londi Tomaro of Juneau has been awarded a $1,000 Cheney Scholarship for the 2000-2001 term at Lewis and Clark College in Portland, Ore.

Katreen and Daisy May Reyes of Juneau have enlisted in the United State's Army's Delayed Entry Program. They will leave for basic training at Fort Jackson, S.C. on Aug. 16.

Monica Newcomb and Greg Westfall of Craig received the United States Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete award.

Page not found | Juneau Empire - Alaska's Capital City Online Newspaper

Page not found

We're sorry, but the page you were seeking does not exist. It may have been moved or expired.  Perhaps our search engine can help. 



  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback