Juneau's GSC swimmers take 5th

Five swimmers qualify for regional swim meet

Posted: Friday, July 29, 2005

The Glacier Swim Club enjoyed one of its best outings ever at the Alaska Long Course State Championships last weekend in Anchorage.

Despite sending just 13 athletes and one relay team, Juneau's Glacier Swim Club captured fifth place out of 15 teams in the youth competition.

Auri Clark was the top point winner for the 10-and-under girls age group.

The 10-year-old won the 50-meter breaststroke, the 50-meter freestyle, the 50-meter butterfly, the 100-meter freestyle and the 100-meter breaststroke.

She also claimed second-place in the 100-meter butterfly and 200-meter individual medley.

Kyle O'Brien was the runner-up high point winner in the 15-and-older boys competition.

O'Brien finished first in the 200-meter individual medley and 400-meter freestyle. He also had three second-place finishes and a third-place finish.

Cody Brunette, 13, took the runner-up points award for the 13-tand-14 year old boys division.

Brunette had four first-place finishes. He won the 400-meter individual medley, the 200-meter backstroke, the 100-meter butterfly and 100-meter backstroke.

He also claimed second place in the 200-meter individual medley.

GSC also had a number of individual champions.

13-year-old Seth Cayce took first place in the 200-meter breaststroke, 200-meter butterfly and the 100-meter breaststroke. He also claimed third in the 100-meter butterfly.

Kristen Jones, 15, took first in the 400-meter individual medley, second in the 200-meter individual medley and also had a pair of third place finishes.

Nathan Messing, 11, proved to be one of the GSC's most consistent swimmers. Messing finished in the top five in all seven of his races.

Following last weekend's competition, the GSC qualified five swimmers to represent Alaska in the Western Zone swim meet in Salt Lake City, Utah, on August 9-13.

O'Brien, Brunett, Kristin Jones, Amanda Jones and Matt Josephson all qualified for the meet.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us