Two file bids for city seats

Jeannie Johnson to run in District 1; Randy Wanamaker submits District 2 petition

Posted: Tuesday, August 14, 2001

Two candidates officially entered the race for Juneau Assembly on Monday, the first day to submit nominating petitions to the city.

Real estate business owner, private pilot and Juneau Airport Board member Jeannie Johnson filed for the District 1 seat. She said she is anxious to keep the legislative session and capital in Juneau and hopes to strengthen ties with other Southeast Alaska communities. Transportation improvements are another priority, she said.

"I'd like to focus on safety improvements to North Douglas and solving the bottleneck at both ends of the (Douglas) bridge. I'm excited about the long-range tourism plan and believe there can be a balance," she said.

Funding for a new high school, improvements to Juneau-Douglas High School and senior citizen issues also would be priorities if elected, Johnson said.

Randy Wanamaker submitted a petition for the District 2 Assembly seat on Monday. Wanamaker is an environmental assessor and the chairman of the board of directors of Goldbelt, Juneau's urban Native corporation. He announced his plan to run last week, saying he wanted to help prevent a capital move by building on regional support for Juneau.

Incumbent Cathy Mu-oz is not running for re-election to the District 1 seat this fall, and District 2 incumbent and Deputy Mayor John MacKinnon cannot run because of term limits. Areawide Assembly member Jim Powell and former Urban Bear Committee chairman Mark Farmer have said they intend to run for city office. Three seats, for three years, are open on the Assembly this fall.

Two seats are open on the Juneau School Board. Incumbents Stan Ridgeway and Mary Becker have said they will run again.

The deadline to file a nominating petition for local office is 4:30 p.m. Aug. 23. The election is Oct. 2.


Joanna Markell can be reached at

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us