A marathon thank you

Posted: Friday, August 22, 2003

Many thanks to the people and businesses that made the 12th Annual Frank Maier Marathon and Douglas Island Half Marathon our best success ever. 135 runners from four Alaskan cities, 15 other states, Canada and Australia completed the race, with many out-of-state runners traveling to Juneau specifically to run here.

Special thanks are due to Minch-Ritter-Voelckers (MRV) Architects, the principle sponsor of the Frank Maier Marathon. Generous financial support from MRV, and from Valley Lumber and John Walsh & Co., enabled great awards for winners, shirts for all participants, and a high-quality event in 2003. Mike's Place hosted our first annual - we hope - pre-race pasta dinner and social gathering with planning assistance by Clayton Hawkes, Suzanne Hebert, Dawn Walsh, Deborah Rudis and Nancy Thomas. The Alaska Club/JRC treated all visiting marathoners to the use of their facilities. Ben Van Alen managed out-of-state registrations and race-day results, and he took care of our visiting participants pre-race and post-race needs for the 11th year in a row. Clayton Hawkes helped with pre-race advertising and Penny Saddler was our race-day statistician. Birger Baastrup (City Center Chiropractic) provided pre-race and post-race sports and medical services to the runners. McDonald's of Juneau supplied insulated beverage containers and ice for our aid stations, and the Army National Guard provided tables. Crandall Mark (Juneau Parks and Recreation) also helped with race equipment. Mike Williams and Gordon Taylor set up the course, and Don Eagle and John Sifling took it down. Ken Hoff and Sandy Woods orchestrated the great BBQ after the race, using the deluxe custom grill loaned to us by the Douglas Volunteer Fire Department. Ken Hoff and Joe Newman manned the grill. Staff at the Alaska Club/JRC, The Nugget Alaska Outfitter, and the Foggy Mountain Shop helped us pre-register local runners, and Deborah Craig, Sandy Wood, Beth Potter, and Lynda Giguere registered scores of runners on race day. Scott and Denise McPherson photographed the race, and Tamra Faris took photos at the finish line. Doug Jones provided year-around web-support, and posts our entry forms, race photos, and results on-line at www.juneau.com/serr, courtesy of McPhee Publications Inc. Fred Bergander was our on-course race monitor and runner-support official. Ellen Rosfeld and Deborah Craig also supported runners on course. The six aid stations along the course were enthusiastically run by Amy Carroll, Sara Peacock, Dewey Peacock, Maren Havig, Michelle Prebula, Tena Hart, Charlene Morrison, Sheila King, Rebecca Robertson and Angelica Lopez Campos (Station 1), Paul and Diane Desloover, and Kathy Fanning (Station 2), Sandy Warner, JoAnn Ask, and Cindy Schlaffman (Station 3), Pat Harris and Liz Johnson (Station 4), Dave and Adrienne Audet (Station 5) and Pete Huberth (Station 6). Our busy finish line was run by Phil Moritz, Buck Bryant, Kathy Coghill, Cindy Schlaffman, and Beth Potter, with help from Bill Andrews and Lorrie and Galen Wright. Deborah Craig designed the event shirt and posters, and helped with other race preparations. Paul Voelckers made the 24 award presentations. Deborah Rudis helped with event graphics. Dean Courtney provided the "official truck" of the Frank Maier Marathon.

Many of these folks helped in past years and did double duty by both volunteering and running. The marathon is named after Frank Maier, an avid local marathoner who helped inspire us. We thank you all, and those neighbors I have overlooked, thank you for your contribution to the great success of the event, amidst a rather heavy downpour! Juneau can raise a great marathon!

Bob Marshall

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us