Juneau boys win Haines X-C meet

Posted: Tuesday, September 05, 2000

Wesley Brooks and Brian Nowlin finished 1-2 at a cross-country meet in Haines Saturday to give Juneau-Douglas a win against teams from Haines, Petersburg, Skagway and Mount Edgecumbe.

Brooks clocked 16 minutes, 49 seconds while Nowlin finished in 17:12 on a hilly course through the Haines Fairgrounds.

Jordan Davis finished eighth for the Crimson Bears (18:10), followed by Philip Dierking in 11th (18:20), Buddy McCrummen in 14th (18:48), Kyle Thibodeau in 16th (18:58), Matt Fosket in 17th (19:00) and Brandon Andrews in 18th (19:01).

Sarah Lende of Haines won the girls' meet with a time of 19:31. Teammate Ella Allred finished second in 21:00 but Haines didn't figure in scoring because it has only four girls on the team (seven are needed for a score).

Juneau placed the next seven runners, led by Molly Krehlik's fourth-place finish in 21:48. Mikala Rodriguez (22:06), Kathryn Brubaker (22:09), Phoebe Rohrbacher (22:41, Emily Krehlik (23:00) and Erin Flynn (23:01) placed fifth through ninth for Juneau.

The Juneau girls defeated Skagway the only other team with enough runners for a score 15 to 49. The Juneau boys won with a 36-point total, followed by Haines (58), Petersburg (74), Skagway (83) and Mount Edgecumbe (109).

The Juneau cross-country team competes in Sitka next weekend.

Page not found | Juneau Empire - Alaska's Capital City Online Newspaper

Page not found

We're sorry, but the page you were seeking does not exist. It may have been moved or expired.  Perhaps our search engine can help. 



  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback