Neighbors Digest

Posted: Wednesday, September 14, 2005

SE Panhandlers annual toy drive

The Southeast Panhandlers, in collaboration with the Douglas Fire Department, will hold their annual toy drive and barbecue at the Douglas Fire Hall at 2 p.m., Sept. 18.

Admission to the barbecue is a suggested donation of $10; admission is free with the donation of a toy.

The collected toys are given to Bartlett Regional Hospital, which distributes the toys to any child who receives treatment there. All donated toys must be new, for hygienic reasons, and soft.

For more information, contact Bob Valliant at 796-8438 or Sandy Krook at 780-6218.

Katrina marathon raises $16,000

KTOO-FM's marathon to raise funds for the American Red Cross in its work to aid victims of Hurricane Katrina brought in more $16,000 in donations.

The 312-hour event, aired Sept. 9 and featured guests on the air with their stories and impressions of the situation, including phone calls to Juneau residents who are taking part in the relief efforts.

One hundred percent of the contributions will go directly to the American Red Cross. Local personalities joined KTOO program hosts and dozens of community leaders during the marathon. Anchoring the live broadcast were KTOO's All Things Considered host Julia Carlisle, reporter and producer Katie Bausler, Soundings host Grace Ellliot, Crosscurrent's Jeff Herrmann, Kevin Meyers from the University of Alaska and long-time Alaska radio personality Ron Clarke.

Youth conference in Fairbanks

First Alaskans Institute hosts the 2005 AFNFirst Alaskans Elders and Youth Conference on Oct. 17 and 18, at the Carlson Center in Fairbanks.

This year's theme is "Embracing Tomorrow with the Strength of Our Elders."

Register for the conference online at, or call 907-677-1712.

Begich scholarships

Pegge Begich, Chair of the Nick Begich Scholarship Intern Fund, announced the 2005/06 Scholarship awards for Alaska residents pursuing degrees or careers in education, government, or public service.

Katelyn Baldwin of Wasilla won a $2,000 scholarship. 2005 Colony High School graduate Katelyn Baldwin plans to pursue degrees in International Relations and Political Science at Stanford University. She has been an active youth leader in the community, including serving as a Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District student advisory board member and president; student government officer; KMBQ 99.7 Teen Power Hour radio spokesperson; peer mediator; member of National Honor Society and Spanish National Honor Society; participant in Alaska Youth for Environmental Action Civics and Conservation Summit; and coordinator of "Africa Night," a benefit for the Rwandan Chapter of Women for Women International.

Mary Banaszak of Anchorage won a $1,500 scholarship. Banazak is on leave from her braillist/assistant teacher position with the Anchorage School District. She will pursue her certification to teach blind and visually impaired learners. Banazak has supplemented her professional development through Braille literacy courses at University of Alaska, Anchorage. She also volunteers as a Goal Ball referee and assistant coach for a visually impaired teen team.

John Murphy of Eagle River received a $1,500 scholarship. Chugiak High School graduate, Murphy has been actively involved with school-wide recycling efforts, Battle of the Books, school sports, Eagle River Food Bank, and volunteering with local political campaigns. He will pursue studies in Economics to learn more about American fiscal policy and he looks forward to a career in public service.

Yael Bortnick of Anchorage, Sharon Webb of Thorne Bay and Charles Ralston of Juneau were recipients of the $750 scholarships. $500 scholarship winners were Michael Backus of Wasilla, David Wilkinson of Eagle River and Barbara DeLongchamp of Anchorage.

The Nick Begich Scholarship Intern Fund was created in 1977 by friends and family of late Congressman Nick Begich (D- Alaska). Questions may be referred to Executive Director Tom Begich at or (907) 332-2585.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us