Republicans suggest replacements for Sen. Gene Therriault

Posted: Monday, September 21, 2009

FAIRBANKS - Gov. Sean Parnell will have three names to choose from to replace Gene Therriault as state senator from District F, which stretches from North Pole to Valdez.

Alaska Republicans forwarded the names of state Rep. John Coghill of North Pole, former North Pole state Sen. Mike Miller, and Scott Smith of Valdez, the District 12 chairman of the Republican Party. They were the only three to apply.

Therriault is resigning to take a job with Parnell. He will be the governor's senior policy adviser on Alaska energy issues.

Republicans from Districts 11 and 12 met Saturday in Delta Junction and interviewed the candidates.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us