Absentee numbers hold up to last year's

Voter turnout in 2001 election was 28 percent

Posted: Monday, September 30, 2002


For more Juneau Empire coverage of the October 1 municipal elections, please visit the Juneau Empire Elections Guide.

Almost 880 people have asked for absentee ballots for Tuesday's city election, about the same number as last year when about a quarter of Juneau's registered voters went to the polls, said Beth McEwen, deputy city clerk.

Registered voters who wish to vote absentee may request ballots either in person or by fax until 5 p.m. today, McEwen said. The city clerk's office is no longer accepting mail-in requests.

Polls open at 7 a.m. Tuesday and will stay open until 8 p.m. Voters will chose three Juneau Assembly members and two Juneau School Board members as well as vote on a $15 million bond proposition. Absentee ballots must be postmarked by Tuesday and received by 0ct. 7. Election results, including the final absentee ballot count, will be certified Oct. 8.

Over recent years, the number of absentee votes cast has risen and fallen depending on the total number of voters in an election. McEwen said there were no numbers available for the number of absentee ballots requested at this time last year, but said most absentee ballots requested usually are cast.

How to register for the state election

Go to www.juneau.lib.ak.us/clerk/elections or call 465-3021.

Last year's final absentee vote count was 739 votes cast in an election where 28 percent, or 6,773 out of 23,865 registered voters went to the polls. In 2000, when voter turnout was relatively high at 49 percent, 1,198 absentee votes were counted. Currently, 24,011 people in Juneau are registered to vote. The 2000 census indicated 30,711 people live in Juneau.

In the Assembly race, voters will chose between incumbent Mark Wheeler and challenger Chuck Collins for the areawide seat, incumbent Frankie Pillifant and challenger Merrill Sanford for the District 1 seat, and incumbent Don Etheridge and challenger Stan Ridgeway for the District 2 seat.

Voters may chose two School Board members from a list of eight candidates: Carl Brodersen, Louise Cornwall, Jeremy Kerr, Steve Kikendall, Julie Morris, Will Muldoon, Bonn Trinidad and Bob Van Slyke. No incumbents are running.

Voters also will decide whether to approve a $15 million bond package to fund improvements in the city's harbors, utilities and parks.

Where to vote Oct. 1

Voting precincts have changed for this year's election due to redistricting. The following are the new polling places:

• Douglas: Douglas Library, 1016 3rd St.

• North Douglas: Juneau Fire Hall, 820 Glacier Ave.

• Juneau No. 1: Juneau Assembly Chambers, 155 S. Seward St.

• Juneau No. 2: Holy Trinity Episcopal Church, 325 Gold St.

• Juneau No. 3: Juneau Senior Center, 895 W. 12th St.

• Juneau No. 4: Cedar Park, 3414 Foster Ave.

• Juneau Airport: Nugget Mall, 8745 Glacier Hwy.

• Lemon Creek: AEL&P, 5601 Tonsgard Ct.

• Salmon Creek: Wildflower Court, Hospital Drive, behind Bartlett Regional Hospital.

• Switzer Creek: Alaska Marine Highway administration building, 6858 Glacier Hwy.

• Mendenhall No. 1: Mendenhall Mall, 9105 Mendenhall Mall Rd.

• Mendenhall No. 2: Carrs-Safeway, 3033 Vintage Blvd.

• Mendenhall No. 3: Glacier Valley Baptist Church, 3921 Mendenhall Lp. Rd.

• Mendenhall No. 4: Shepherd of the Valley Lutheran Church, 4212 Mendenhall Lp. Rd.

• Auke Bay: Auke Bay Fire Hall, 12 Mi. Glacier Hwy.

• Lynn Canal: Auke Bay Ferry Terminal, Mile 13.8 Glacier Hwy.

To figure out which polling place to use, call the city clerk, 586-5278.

Julia O'Malley can be reached at jomalley@juneauempire.com.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us